We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place is great. The prices are fair and the office staff is great. I have stayed here several years now and the last room of the motel is directly on the beach. Beach front enjoyment with no sand in your toes. The rooms are super clean and with the small kitchen it is a great way to save money-especially with the restaurant prices on the island. I will be back again next year and think that this place is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    95
    23
    18
    11
See reviews for
83
161
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We spent two lovely evenings at the Shalimar in one of the rooms in the two-storey motel building. It was spacious and very clean, nicely appointed. I enjoyed an excellent complimentary wireless internet connection, and if we had stayed longer we would no doubt have made use of the little kitchenette. It was nice to a fridge for and the option of preparing food. The room had a wonderful screened in balcony overlooking the gorgeous beach, facing the side of the island on which the sun sets. It was such a treat to sit out on that balcony, and to have the doors open at night, to fall asleep to the gulf breeze and sound of the surf. We only needed to walk out the door to enjoy a walk on the beach, one of the nicest I’ve ever visited. The shelling we did in front of the Shalimar was some of the best we found on the island. The staff was courteous and the location could not have been better. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanno4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Shalimar offers rooms and cottages. We selected a room and were rewarded with a wonderful studio room; tiny kitchen, huge king sized bed, dressers, a desk, two cosy chairs, a dining table for two and a marvelous screened porch, with another table for two. The room was perfectly situated to allow us to watch beach sunsets. Shalimar is right at the beach, just an awesome place. The only shortfall for the rooms is that they are not perfectly insulated for sound. But all in all an amazing couple of days of owning ideal beach front property. The rooms are wonderfully decorated in a shell/ island theme, and everything you need for dishes or pans is in the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainetaxmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first stay at Shalimar, and when I walked into our room #9 it was decorated just like our own home. It was so bright, clean, and had a well equipped kitchen. We had a beautiful gulf view from our first floor motel room. The staff was very nice and helpful. We will definitely be going back to Shalimar.

Room Tip: Lower floor had foot traffic noise. The first night was normal, but the people that came in the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claxton, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed on the second floor of the motel and our room was very clean and well equiped. Kitchenette had all the items needed for cooking and clean up. The bed was very comfortable. Slept like a baby. The screened-in balcony had great views and the "no-seeums" couldn't get'cha. We went during the month of October and the property was very quiet and the beach was quite deserted. Shelling was great right out your back door. Recommend eating at The Island Cow, reasonable prices, and Traditions, higher priced but great food, on Sanibel and Keylime Bistro on Captiva. A must see is the sunset from Mucky Duck's on Captiva. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my third visit to Shalimar and what an improvement! Last year I stayed there with friends and gave it four stars only because we felt it could use some updating (sheets, floors, fixtures, upholstery). Last week I entered a lovely room at the Motel and everything looked new. As always no one on the Island can beat how close it is to the beach and the beautiful views from our private decks. The pool was clean and in excellent condition allowing my grandsons hours of fun when we changed locations from beach to pool. An excellent choice.

Room Tip: If using the Motel stay as close to the beach as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystad, Sverige
Level Contributor
342 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

You Can't come closer to serenity in Florida. Close to long, shellfilled beach. À nice Big pool and spacious cottages. Grab à coffee in The Morning at The reception and head out. This is were you stay if you want peace at mind but still enjoy taking à bikeride now and then.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaSjogren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Property: Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing