We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Get Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed three nights in mid-August and had a great time. Decided to pay a little more for a cottage and it was definitely worth it. Felt like our own little vacation home. Simulated wood flooring throughout, separate bedroom, small (but fully equipped) kitchen and screened in patio. We didn't stay in 4,5,6 or 7, which have great Gulf views from the patio, but we could still see (and hear) the Gulf from ours. Pool area was clean and they provide towels. Didn't use the towel exchange as we were only there three nights. They have free coffee in the office every morning, which is great if you arrive late like we did and couldn't make it to the grocery store (they all seem to close at 10:00, even in Ft Meyers). Location is fantastic, just steps from the beach, and they have beach chairs you can use. Been to Sanibel a few times and love the atmosphere and beaches. Shalimar is by the best place we have stayed and will likely go back again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    94
    22
    18
    11
See reviews for
81
161
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My family and I visited Shalimar for 3 days, starting July 21st. First of all, their location is simply unbeatable. You are literally steps always from the beach when you walk out of the door to your room. We stayed in the motel, and the view from the porch was gorgeous. The whole place was extraordinarily clean, particularly for a motel at the beach. We will definitely be back to stay at Shalimar in the future!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank FLGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

You're basically paying for location, since there are virtually no amenities (not even clean sheets). Fresh towels are available if you get them before 1PM. Wi-Fi is a very weak signal in the motel portion. Having said all that -- we had a great time. Adapting to not being on the computer 24/7 and coordinating getting your own towels is not that big a deal.

Room Tip: If you're going to get a cottage, try to choose one with a beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraffitiCulpeperVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed there this month and loved it! The cottages are just steps from the beach and they are just like little apartments. King size bed, kitchenette, large living/dining room, and places out back to hose off your suits and shells. We rented bikes for 2 hours and toured around the whole island! The pool was heated and super clean. They even have gas grills you can wheel over to your cottage for a cook out. Maintenance was always going on and we never saw one piece of stray trash anywhere. They have plastic chairs for your use on the beach too!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblehead, ma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Sanibel offers quite a variety of accommodations but selecting one you'll be happy with can be tricky. We've visited regularly and have had generally good experiences but care is warranted. In June we stayed at Shalimar's cottage #2. Among the benefits to the cottages here is that all are free-standing with no adjoining wall. They are also reasonably spaced relative to their neighbors, not always the case at other properties. The one-bedroom cottage was comfortably large, well-appointed and had the first bathroom exhaust fan we've noticed in any of our rentals. There was a phone in the room. The parking is next to the cottages and roomy. Although we have stayed in more expensive beach-front cottages, frankly, that novelty isn't the best value or even necessarily worth the view.

All cottage resorts on Sanibel have rules about towel turn-in times and methods. At Shalimar, you exchange between 8 and 1. The only downside we experienced was that printing out boarding passes was incredibly slow. We give the cottages a solid rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

After visiting Sanibel briefly a year and a half ago, I could not wait to bring my 7 year old for three days while spending a week in Florida on a whirlwind trip to Disney then Sanibel. I wanted to stay as close to the beach as possible being her first trip to the ocean. I spent a couple of months checking out every possible place to stay in Sanibel. I chose Shalimar because of the location to the beach along with the “extras” I read about.
I must say, I was nothing but satisfied! We were in the motel, third room from the water. The screened porch was fantastic. We ate all of our meals on the porch. We could see the water from anywhere in our room. The room was very spacious and included two queen-size beds with adorable updated decor. The kitchen was small but plenty big for the two of us. My 7 year old had the best time and did not want to leave!
There are plenty of beach chairs for the private beach, tons of shells and beautiful birds. We even saw a turtle nest right in front of Shalimar Motel waiting for the turtles to hatch. What a treat.
The pool was adequate with towels for the taking. The staff was very friendly and assisted with the remote when my daughter picked out movies, an extra bonus. Plenty of towels and kitchen supplies in the room.
Do be aware if you are on the bottom floor it is quite loud. You can hear the neighbors on top floor, so if there are people above you who stay in the room, it can be annoying. If you are a light sleeper, request a top floor. If you are in the Cottages, you will not have these worries.
I did speak with Romas, the manager upon checkout, and he was more than accommodating. I was very pleased with him and the rest of the staff at Shalimar.
After checking out, I did drive to the other places I had “shopped” online, and am very pleased with my choice just to check out the location. You can’t beat Shalimar Cottages! Certainly, “closest to the beach”. Such a Florida feel along with the extras. It’s like having your own beach! I was very impressed and will return for a much longer stay next year!
Robin Kelly, Texas

Room Tip: If you are choosing the motel and are a light sleeper, choose the top floor if possible or the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

On a recent trip to Florida, we decided to check out Sanibel Island, after hearing great reviews about it. We went to the Chamber of Commerce and spoke with a man who was able to give us some accomdation options with vacancy and a map of where they were located. We checked out the Shalimar and 3 other places, and it was a no brainer, the Shalimar was by far the best choice!! We stayed in the Motel part, versuses a cottage, and we had a beautiful, big room. The screened in porch is something I still miss sitting out in every morning and every night. We had a direct view of the ocean and could hear the waves and see the sunset from the porch. Really, what else can you ask for?? The beach was literally about a 30 second walk away and it was just gorgeous! They provided colorful beach chairs to sit in and we met SO many lovely people who were staying there as well. The whole atmosphere of the Shalimar is what I really think I fell in love with. The openness of the property, the interior decoration of the beach themed rooms, the location of the beach, everything was just so relaxing and fun. They even have gas grills around the property you can use to cook up anything you would like. The only thing I would say that wasnt a five star rating were that the walls were a little thin, so you could sometimes hear the foot steps of the people above you, or the tv of the people next door, but it really wasnt that bad at all because it was so minimal. Most importantly, it felt like home there and I didnt want to leave!! I am already trying to figure out when I can go back here!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summer140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Property: Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing