We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Ybel Resort
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$179
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$239
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
$239
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$120
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
368
173
77
37
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
173
77
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthistle lodgerecommend casapool barthe kitchentime shareliving roomgrouper sandwichscreened in porchlarge poolan umbrellaone bedroom unitfirst floorbeautiful view of the gulfpool siderented bikesgulf of mexicobeautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 685 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed a long weekend at Casa Ybel while attending a wedding at the resort.

I can certainly understand why the bride and groom chose Casa Ybel! The resort's grounds are expansive and beautifully manicured; and, food and service at Casa Ybel's Thistle Lodge restaurant (which catered the wedding, and where we dined twice on our own) are excellent. Also, despite the peace and tranquility of Casa Ybel's situation, the location offers quick access to all conveniences - groceries, liquor stores, restaurants, and shops - on Sanibel.

From our first floor suite located in one of the condo hotel units, located at a far end of the property, we could walk directly cross the lawn onto the beach. Our location was a long walk to the pool, but very peaceful and quiet - so perfect for us. Furnishings and décor were attractive (not super-luxe, but comfortable and substantial). The kitchenette was handy for preparing breakfast or cocktails, though not adequate for serious cooking. The bed was extremely comfortable, and made up every day with crisp, fresh linens; and the bedroom amazingly contained more storage than we could possibly fill. I particularly liked the bathroom arrangement, with two separate sink, vanity, and changing areas, which were very helpful with both of us rushing from beach-bumming to social events. Most importantly, everything in the suite was spotlessly clean, as though no one else had ever been there! (Kudos to housekeeping for doing such a great job even in July when the resort was extremely busy!)

The only real negative about our room has to do with building design, as the only window in our bedroom looked directly on the common stairway accessing all units in the building. In addition to the privacy issue, the entry light on the stairway was on all night and shined brightly through the closed louvers of the plantation shutters (nice for people who use nightlights, but not so good for those of us who like to sleep in the dark).

A few negatives we experienced in Casa Ybel's common areas probably have more to do with the timing of our visit, on a hot, crowded July weekend; but, I must note that ... Parking is tight. When all spaces are occupied, it takes some maneuvering to get in and out of a space without dinging other cars (especially with so many big SUVs around). The pool area was jam-packed with people and water toys throughout our stay. Though we always managed to get chairs and towels, it was hard to settle in and relax for any extended period. I understand (but don't know for sure) that Casa Ybel opens the pool and pool bar to people not staying at the resort, so some crowding may be due to outsiders coming in for the day. Also, the pool restrooms are small, without shower or changing facilities, which we would have appreciated on our first day, when our flight arrived very early and we had to wait many hours for check in. There are changing facilities near the tennis courts, but these are also a bit outdated and really can't accommodate more than one person at a time.

All in all, I highly recommend Casa Ybel Resort. Hope to return, probably in "shoulder" season. ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiawahvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive review. We're glad to read you enjoyed your visit to Casa Ybel Resort. We have many guests and local families enjoying the summer on the Island this year. I will share your comments with our One Bedroom Suite housekeeping team, they take pride in their work and it shows. Coconuts Bar and Grill is open to the public, the pool and accompanying services are exclusive to registered guests. Thank you again for joining us. We hope you'll join us again on your next visit to Sanibel Island. Best regards, from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The resort is beautiful. The staff is friendly. We had a few issues with our room. They looked rather dated, but were clean and spacious. Our closet was broken (we couldn't hang clothes because the pole kept falling down). Our ironing board was broken so we had issues ironing and the fuses kept blowing in the room. The view was great! The location was great! The food was really good. We would come back.

Room Tip: If you want privacy pick a room that is not a pool view, but a beach view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for the positive review. We are very sorry for the inconveniences mentioned, you shouldn't have experienced them. We have a full service maintenance team available to address any issues that may arise right away. I will see that these items are inspected throughout the resort right away. The two bedroom suites located around the pool will be completely redone within the next two months. We're glad you'll be back and look forward to welcoming you. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here last week and this by far is the best place we have ever stayed. Stayed in a one bedroom unit which was more than enough space for two people. Bedroom was the first room as you enter the unit with the bathroom being next. Bedroom was a good size and equipped with king bed, flat screen tv and closet.
Bathroom layout was excellent. There was a sink area, then the tub/toilet area, then another sink area. Each area can be closed off/locked for privacy. Although there was only the two of us it was nice that we each had our own sink area. Next you come to the open area which is the kitchen (full fridge, stove/oven, microwave, sink, dishwasher, coffeemaker) and living area.
Kitchen was stocked with basic glasses/plates/silverware and small appliances. The only thing I did not see was pots and pans. So if you are planning on making your own meal you may want to bring your own or inquire if the units have pots/pans. I noticed a built-in grill at the units on either side of ours but not at our unit. Not sure if maybe they are placed at every other unit.
Living area opens to the lanai. Lanai had a view of the ocean. View in our room (Room 135) was partially blocked by trees but it was still beautiful (picture attached). You are close enough to hear the ocean when sitting on lanai. Living area included a coach, chair and flat screen tv with plenty of room to navigate. It was not at all cramped. There is a dining table between the kitchen and living area.
Housekeeping was top notch in our unit. Not sure what time she arrived but she was done in our unit by 11:00 which was perfect for us. She left the place spotless each day.
Beach was just a short walk across the beautiful, lush grass. This was one of the cleanest beaches I have ever seen. There was no trash anywhere! And of course plenty of sea shells; although I did find better selection of shells further down the island for some reason.
I felt like this resort thought of everything. There is a shell cleaning station as you come off the beach which is nice to get all the sand cleaned off everything. Each unit had a faucet outside so you could rinse off before going into your unit.
There is no shortage of activities here either. The pool area was very nice with plenty of chairs already set up.
The only other observation I noticed was the lack of outside lighting. This is due to the sea turtle nests. It is not a problem just something I wanted to point out. If you want to use the lanai after sunset you will be sitting in the dark. :-)
This was the perfect place for our anniversary celebration and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrwWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We're glad you had a great visit. We love this place too! We're looking forward to your next visit. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed a week here for our baby moon. Stayed in April the first week of the month. It was beautiful. The best beach I had ever been to. We went to all of them on the island and ours was the best.Loved the room. Everything you need And more. What can I say...this place left me speechless. Its a bucket list must do! Can't wait to bring our 7 kids next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christinabluehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review and congratulations on number 7! We hope to see you all soon. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We did not stay on resort but had dinner at the beautiful thistle lodge, fell in love with resort and this lodge !!! great food !! AND WHAT A VIEW OF OCEAN WHILE DINING !!! service was slow is our only complaint we were just there over 4th of july and will be back this summer again to stay at resort.
Tony y Mimi

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your visit to Casa Ybel and our Thistle Lodge Restaurant. We look forward to your upcoming stay. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews