We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sanibel Fl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sanibel Fl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a week here. When we first arrived our reservation was lost! OMG!! Their computer system had the wrong dates like a year out! Luckily I had their email of confirmation in my iPhone and it was Jan their quiet season so we did get a suite. It was ocean front which was wonderful. We saw dolphins swim by from our screened in Linae. The staff while friendly were the slowest cleaning staff ever and we did have some food disappear from our frig nothing major just a yogurt but still...
The beds were wonderful! Very comfortable.
The beach was loaded with seashells!
The restaurants at this resort were very good, the staff great... both poolside and in the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancynancygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to read you found your suite to be wonderful and you enjoyed your visit from the view, to the dolphins and the food served at our restaurant. Thanks again! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    141
    61
    27
    22
See reviews for
219
194
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed a week in a 2-bedroom unit at Casa Ybel. It was my 5th trip to the island, and my first stay at Casa Ybel. The property's location is on the Gulf in a lovely, natural setting. However, for the price we paid I was expecting much higher-end accommodations. Instead, the unit we stayed in was in need of some upgrading and TLC. For example, the laminate was peeling off nearly all the pressed-board cupboards and drawers in the kitchen. The tile floor in the kitchen was badly marred with dirty grout. All of the utensils in the kitchen were cheap and poor quality; there wasn't a single decent knife that I could chop with. As a result, we made no meals at the condo.

As for the resort amenities, beware: They charge for beach chair and umbrella rental. And, the drink prices at the pool bar, Coconuts, are confiscatory! We were also disappointed with the pool. Being lap swimmers, my husband and I and were attracted by Casa Ybel's advertised Olympic-sized pool. However, we were disappointed to find that they rope off the pool in the center, making it difficult to swim laps across the pool's length. And they refused to remove the rope while we swam, citing some local ordinance requiring it. But, I must give credit for their free wifi that worked great even on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cotohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the shortcomings referenced in your review. Please contact us at your convenience so that we may determine the suite number you are referencing and address the specific items. Our one bedroom suites are newly furnished and this year the two bedrooms will undergo a two phase renovation process as part of their continious 3-5 enhancement schedule (a portion redone this year, the other next year). Resort guests can enjoy early morning lap-swimming in our Olympic size heated pool. We recently installed a state of the art WiFi system that you can enjoy in your suite, by the pool, in the restaurant as well as the beach... yes, the beach! Thanks again, regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the place to stay on Sanibel. We have vacationed there three times-
each time in the one bedroom condos. Twice in the upper units and once in
the lower- even though we requested an upper unit. It turned out that the lower
unit was perfectly okay... lower ceilings, but less steps up to the unit, and direct
access to the lawn and beach side. The condo has a mini kitchen and a very
nice screened porch which you can open to the living room. Well designed and
fairly well maintained units, comfortable bed and daily housekeeping (they even do
your dishes). Great location and nice pool and poolside restaurant. We have not
tried the more formal dining room, preferring to eat out at various restaurants on the
island and up on Captiva.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acekingqueenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We'll see you on the beach again soon! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very comfortable resort, directly on the beach, which seems endless. We've been there 1 week in august 2012. After a day I wanted to stay at least for a month! Apartments are spacious and very clean. Beautiful sea view. Very relaxing was to sit on the veranda and watch the changing scene of waves, sky and listen to the sea at night. There is a pool, which we did not use. It looked small and crowded. Better take a bath in the sea and snorkel for even more beautiful shells. One time we had dinner at the restaurant. The food was good. We loved Casa Ybel and want to return asap!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCM_nchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to your next visit to Sanibel and Casa Ybel Resort! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I have been vacationing on Sanibel for most of my life but never stayed at Casa Ybel. I'm very happy we decided to try it out. The grounds are beautiful, the pool with poolside bar spectacular and staff very friendly. We are heading back again next year!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We're looking forward to your return visit next year! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been coming to Casa Ybel for several years and, though lovely, it's needing some attention. They've upgraded the towels and bed sheets since our last visit, which was very nice. But - the upstairs bathroom light fixture was askew, there were no shelves in the linen closet, the kitchen sink faucet kept falling down, a cupboard door was unhinged, grout was mildewed, light bulbs were out in several places, there was no TV channel listing, one of the TV remotes was missing and there were no oven mitts anywhere. Whenever we called for service (maintenance,etc.), there was no answer so we had to leave a message and wait for a call-back. Bicycles were never available and we always had to wait for towels at the pool. And the rule prohibiting kids under 12 in the hot tub was never enforced. Finally, though having wi-fi available was great, the hook-up was in the closet of the 2nd bedroom and it blinked on and off 24/7, which was extremely annoying while trying to sleep. All that said, it's still a nice property that we enjoy visiting almost annually - they just need to "sweat the details" a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to read you plan on returning to Casa Ybel despite the issues mentioned. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day 7 days a week, we are happy to coordinate with our maintenance and housekeeping staff for quick resolution of any issue. Thanks again. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Like so many establishments on the Gulf Coast this one is not really a hotel, more like serviced apartments. I had a second floor, ie 2 flights of stairs, no lift so bag wrangling is necessary as no help on offer. Big open plan living/dining/kitchen. Adequate size bedroom. Very dated and badly laid out bathroom. Shower over bath tub with a cheap and nasty shower curtain. Good sized pool with a poolside snack bar. Great to be able to wander along the unspoilt beach. The Thistle restaurant is quite frankly dreadful. I had coqulet/ poussin which was overlooked to the point of inedible seved with vegetables that I imagine were supposed to be al dente bit in fact virtually raw all swimming in gravy. Empty starter drinks glass was left on table all meal. Bombastic waiter, Andrew, who along with his new colleague really did not improve things by speaking at loud hailer levels to all diners thereby spoiling any tranquility. Vastly overpriced. Never again. It is a matter of getting the car out in the morning and a trip to the village for breakfast as there is no breakfast served. I go on holiday to be cooked for, not to have to prepare meals myself. As the meal in the Thistle was so poor the second night I had frozen pizza and ice cream in my room. How sad is that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
10.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,908 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing