We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for some days or even weeks”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect for some days or even weeks”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very comfortable resort, directly on the beach, which seems endless. We've been there 1 week in august 2012. After a day I wanted to stay at least for a month! Apartments are spacious and very clean. Beautiful sea view. Very relaxing was to sit on the veranda and watch the changing scene of waves, sky and listen to the sea at night. There is a pool, which we did not use. It looked small and crowded. Better take a bath in the sea and snorkel for even more beautiful shells. One time we had dinner at the restaurant. The food was good. We loved Casa Ybel and want to return asap!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCM_nchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to your next visit to Sanibel and Casa Ybel Resort! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    161
    71
    32
    27
See reviews for
257
231
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I have been vacationing on Sanibel for most of my life but never stayed at Casa Ybel. I'm very happy we decided to try it out. The grounds are beautiful, the pool with poolside bar spectacular and staff very friendly. We are heading back again next year!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We're looking forward to your return visit next year! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been coming to Casa Ybel for several years and, though lovely, it's needing some attention. They've upgraded the towels and bed sheets since our last visit, which was very nice. But - the upstairs bathroom light fixture was askew, there were no shelves in the linen closet, the kitchen sink faucet kept falling down, a cupboard door was unhinged, grout was mildewed, light bulbs were out in several places, there was no TV channel listing, one of the TV remotes was missing and there were no oven mitts anywhere. Whenever we called for service (maintenance,etc.), there was no answer so we had to leave a message and wait for a call-back. Bicycles were never available and we always had to wait for towels at the pool. And the rule prohibiting kids under 12 in the hot tub was never enforced. Finally, though having wi-fi available was great, the hook-up was in the closet of the 2nd bedroom and it blinked on and off 24/7, which was extremely annoying while trying to sleep. All that said, it's still a nice property that we enjoy visiting almost annually - they just need to "sweat the details" a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to read you plan on returning to Casa Ybel despite the issues mentioned. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day 7 days a week, we are happy to coordinate with our maintenance and housekeeping staff for quick resolution of any issue. Thanks again. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Like so many establishments on the Gulf Coast this one is not really a hotel, more like serviced apartments. I had a second floor, ie 2 flights of stairs, no lift so bag wrangling is necessary as no help on offer. Big open plan living/dining/kitchen. Adequate size bedroom. Very dated and badly laid out bathroom. Shower over bath tub with a cheap and nasty shower curtain. Good sized pool with a poolside snack bar. Great to be able to wander along the unspoilt beach. The Thistle restaurant is quite frankly dreadful. I had coqulet/ poussin which was overlooked to the point of inedible seved with vegetables that I imagine were supposed to be al dente bit in fact virtually raw all swimming in gravy. Empty starter drinks glass was left on table all meal. Bombastic waiter, Andrew, who along with his new colleague really did not improve things by speaking at loud hailer levels to all diners thereby spoiling any tranquility. Vastly overpriced. Never again. It is a matter of getting the car out in the morning and a trip to the village for breakfast as there is no breakfast served. I go on holiday to be cooked for, not to have to prepare meals myself. As the meal in the Thistle was so poor the second night I had frozen pizza and ice cream in my room. How sad is that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Casa Ybel is a lovely place to stay on an even lovelier island. We enjoyed our three nights there very much. Our one-bedroom condo was clean and comfortable, The staff was friendly. The location so close to the beach delightful. So why did we not rate it higher? We felt that for the money we paid, we expected a something more. A few more amenities and a little more style than we found, that's all. We had planned to have my two brothers and their wives join us for drinks at our "home" on Sanibel, before taking them to dinner, on our second night. (One couple has a house on Fort Myers Beach, the other a condo in Fort Myers.) It didn't take us long to decide, "There's really nothing special to show them here, and with seating for only four in the living room, or for only three on the porch, why bother?" So we all met at a restaurant on Captiva for a great evening. If we had had reason to use more of its resort facilities, we might been inclined to choose Casa Ybel when we return to Sanibel next year, which we have already decided to do. But for the price we paid and the benefits we received, we'll choose another place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JEM727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your good review of Casa Ybel Resort. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider us once again on your next visit to Sanibel Island. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First time here in December 2012 and we enjoyed it! Found it to be very clean, with pleasant staff, nice view, and decent beach (although Clearwater Beach is still my favorite). Enjoyed shelling on the beach.
I would recommend for couples and families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Sanibel and Casa Ybel Resort. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our stay in December was amazing. The property was immaculately maintained, the staff was out of the way accomodating to our every needs. Fabulous seaside views, wonderful beach, extrordinary food from Thistles Lodge. A very relaxed resort- we will return.

Room Tip: All rooms (actually large suites) are seaside, great views from both floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're glad you'll be back! Please let our staff know you are a returning guests! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing