We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our "room" was more like a condo - very spacious. Separate kitchen/dining room/living room and bedroom. Various pocket doors separate bathroom from bedroom and hallway, but overall the bathroom was super clean and large. This is a First floor unit (which is really second floor), and has direct access to beach via stairs. Window in bedroom faces stairwell, so blinds need to be kept shut for privacy. There are no elevators, though only two levels. Beatiful views of sunrise and sunset from lanai. Kitchen is fully equipped with full size oven, microwave, dishwasher and fridge. Maid service is daily and Outstanding. We stayed in Room 113. Bed linens were crisp and clean and plenty of towels are provided daily. Noise is not an issue, buildings are solidly built. Coconuts Pool Bar was perfect - great food, great service very good light fare. Front desk staff is very knowledgeable and can provide recommendations for area restaurants and things to do on island. Beautiful beach, highly recommend that guests pay for daily or weekly chair/umbrella set up. Completely worth it. Highlights were abundant shells, friendly staff and clean and well equipped room. The grounds are well kept and lush. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less AC noise, lower rooms are a bit noisy. Between 9 and 5 you can get up to fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gretchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the outstanding review! We look forward to your next visit! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 665 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently spent 5 days at Casa Ybel for a wedding. The rooms were clean and nice. The food at both the pool bar and lodge was excellent. My only problem is this whole resort and town for that matter closes down at 7pm. There is absolutely no nightlife. The resort offers nothing to do. There are no water activities, only walking on the beach. I was actually very ready to go home. For the price I thought there could be something more offered. I have traveled alot and this was, in my eyes, a very expensive resort that offers little if anything to their guests. Also, with all the kids and their floaties, there was no room for adults to relax in the pool without getting splashed and was a very noisy poolside area.

Room Tip: Beach Front has a nice view of the ocean. We had to walk up three flights of stairs which was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I escaped to this lovely resort right on the gulf in Sanibel, Florida after a great time at Disney in order to unwind and pick up few shells, and we were pleasantly surprised with the generous accomodations, perfect location, beautiful grounds and attentive, friendly staff. The decor, furnishings and room amenities were excellent and very appropriate for our needs, with a well equipped kitchen, screened lanai, 2 bathrooms (no waiting!; the master bath is really something special), and one of the most comfortable beds we've had the pleasure of experiencing! While I know this wouldn't happen every time, the staff managed to find us another great room by the large pool when we couldn't bear to leave and extended our stay a couple more days, and even made the move effortless! We will definitely be back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom units are wonderful and spacious. The best views are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here this past weekend for a wonderful get-away weekend with my wife. The grounds of the resort are very well maintained, the rooms are spacious and immaculate. Everything about this resort was perfect. From the view off the back porch, to the sunset on the beach, it is a great place to stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richp3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our "room" was approx. 900 sq feet with a spacious screened-in porch on the second floor, overlooking the beach and ocean bay! Beautifully appointed decor, clean high quality crisp white linens, a little kitchenette, an L- shaped bathroom with separate little rooms -each with a sink, cabinet and sliding wood doors for privacy. The commode and shower/tub sat inbetween each sink area so as all three space could be totally private.

The kitchenette had a 2/3 size fridge and sink, a four place dish set, mugs, etc., all in good condition. Comfortable and spacious living area and a 4 seat dining table. Opening the bedroom windows and the huge sliding glass doors on the opposite end, allowed the ocean breeze through out; although the bedroom is not a part of the main living space. I was really impressed with the spacious layout, very much like a one bedroom apartment.

We stayed here six nights over Christmas and were glad we chose this property. We would book a stay here on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wife and I stayed here for a four day stay. This is a very nice resort right on the water. There is a great pool area, a good restaurant on site (separate review), and pretty much has all you need for a relaxing stay. I would not quite call this a luxury resort, but it certainly had all we needed. And it is very close to everything on Sanibel Island, handy to restaurants and grocery stores. We had a two bedroom condo, and it was very clean and had all the utensils we needed. They offer housekeeping for an extra $50 per day, but we didn't need them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rijeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We held our wedding at Casa Ybel, so over (100) guests decided to stay at the resort for the long weekend. We didn't hear one complaint about the extremely spacious rooms which are all newly renovated all with picturesque views of the Gulf. The staff was amazingly accommodating! Every one of them was so kind to our guests and made our weekend absolutely perfect. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonT859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
9.4 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
721 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $305 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing