We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Resort on Sanibel Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Resort on Sanibel Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wife and I stayed here for a four day stay. This is a very nice resort right on the water. There is a great pool area, a good restaurant on site (separate review), and pretty much has all you need for a relaxing stay. I would not quite call this a luxury resort, but it certainly had all we needed. And it is very close to everything on Sanibel Island, handy to restaurants and grocery stores. We had a two bedroom condo, and it was very clean and had all the utensils we needed. They offer housekeeping for an extra $50 per day, but we didn't need them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rijeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    144
    61
    27
    22
See reviews for
220
196
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We held our wedding at Casa Ybel, so over (100) guests decided to stay at the resort for the long weekend. We didn't hear one complaint about the extremely spacious rooms which are all newly renovated all with picturesque views of the Gulf. The staff was amazingly accommodating! Every one of them was so kind to our guests and made our weekend absolutely perfect. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

note: we did not stay here, rather attended a wedding here. must say it seemed very well run with great first impressions. much of the staff was pleasant and attentive, on the grounds, at the bar, in the parking lot. the ceremony was on the beach and everything was well done. there was ice water due to the late afternoon sun.

i want to contribute these details as it's critical to know before going. the only unfortunate thing were the sand fleas or 'no-see-ums' tiny parasites that need human blood to pass on to their unborn. there were many and they feverishly bit us. we were all itching and two of us had 'severe cases' after being diagnosed once home. if you go, be sure to put oil on your skin, they can't penetrate through to the skin. either sunscreen oil or i was ready to use olive oil! and also, only 'deet' works, not skin so soft and insect repellents. post-bite, calamine lotion, aveeno bath. everyone responds differently so see what works for you. creams did nothing for us. doctor gave me cortisone shot and an oral antihistimine. unbearable itching and worst itch, over a mosquito bite say the experts and i'd concur.

i approached the staff and they said they get them maybe twice a year and nothing could be done. when i pointed out the woman with the big (quarter size) welts all over her body, he brought an industrial strength fan for the table. unfortunately, it didn't work, there were that many of them. the fully clothed men were spared for the most part, however, many women had on little dresses and the fleas loved that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agent99712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you're looking for a super clean condo that faces the ocean and walk out the door to the sand - this is the place. We found this on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a chance when our previous accomodations at Captiva didn't work out. From the second we drove into the property - we were very impressed with the cleanliness and perfection of the landscaping. They allowed us to preview a unit before we made our reservation.
We have our own private front porch (screened in) and can walk right out the door to the beach. The condo unit is perfect with super nice tile floors, comfortable bedding and full kitchen.
I would come back again any time. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reagangirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my first stay at Casa Ybel Resort. Found it on the internet and it was everything we could have hoped for. Beautiful view, our screened porch was just steps from the gulf, great pool with bar, great service and great private beach for shelling. We got an umbrella and 2 chairs for 2 days, $68 which they set up for us. We got the king suite. Lots of room, full kitchen, beautiful interior, comfortable bed. Just nothing lacking. We were there Sept. 9-14th. Almost felt like we were on our own private island. We had a problem with the door lock and a/c when we first arrived and within an hour of calling the problems were fixed and they ask was there anything else they could to do to help us. Extremely good customer service. We're hooked. So excited to go back to Casa Ybel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 109. It was away from the pool and bar area so very quiet except for the a/c noise bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripster5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are looking for anything close to a resort on Sanibel, this is it. It's not cheap, but we'll never stay anywhere else again. The bar (coconuts) is great too. Great pool, great service, and great beach. They have it figure out. Beds are really comfortable, units all updated and cleaned daily. The only thing they need to fix are the rickety-looking stairs outside each unit. They need sanded and stained or replaced with composite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton plains
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

First time Traveling to Sanibel Island, Found this resort by "Dumb Luck " on a search.. Wow were we lucky. The Rooms, grounds, pool and service were immpecable.. We were just looking for a relaxing getaway, We rode bikes everday- rented right on site, relxed in the pool and soaked in the warm waters of the gulf.. For a week getaway we ended up purchasing a timeshare there as our new home away from home.. Cant wait to go back.. This could wither be a couples getaway or a family fun location. best of both worlds..

Room Tip: No Need to leave theisland pleanty of restaraunts, got to baileys for food, essentials, rent a bike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
10.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing