We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation at a Perfect Location”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation at a Perfect Location”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you're looking for a super clean condo that faces the ocean and walk out the door to the sand - this is the place. We found this on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a chance when our previous accomodations at Captiva didn't work out. From the second we drove into the property - we were very impressed with the cleanliness and perfection of the landscaping. They allowed us to preview a unit before we made our reservation.
We have our own private front porch (screened in) and can walk right out the door to the beach. The condo unit is perfect with super nice tile floors, comfortable bedding and full kitchen.
I would come back again any time. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reagangirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    161
    71
    32
    27
See reviews for
257
231
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my first stay at Casa Ybel Resort. Found it on the internet and it was everything we could have hoped for. Beautiful view, our screened porch was just steps from the gulf, great pool with bar, great service and great private beach for shelling. We got an umbrella and 2 chairs for 2 days, $68 which they set up for us. We got the king suite. Lots of room, full kitchen, beautiful interior, comfortable bed. Just nothing lacking. We were there Sept. 9-14th. Almost felt like we were on our own private island. We had a problem with the door lock and a/c when we first arrived and within an hour of calling the problems were fixed and they ask was there anything else they could to do to help us. Extremely good customer service. We're hooked. So excited to go back to Casa Ybel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 109. It was away from the pool and bar area so very quiet except for the a/c noise bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripster5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are looking for anything close to a resort on Sanibel, this is it. It's not cheap, but we'll never stay anywhere else again. The bar (coconuts) is great too. Great pool, great service, and great beach. They have it figure out. Beds are really comfortable, units all updated and cleaned daily. The only thing they need to fix are the rickety-looking stairs outside each unit. They need sanded and stained or replaced with composite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton plains
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First time Traveling to Sanibel Island, Found this resort by "Dumb Luck " on a search.. Wow were we lucky. The Rooms, grounds, pool and service were immpecable.. We were just looking for a relaxing getaway, We rode bikes everday- rented right on site, relxed in the pool and soaked in the warm waters of the gulf.. For a week getaway we ended up purchasing a timeshare there as our new home away from home.. Cant wait to go back.. This could wither be a couples getaway or a family fun location. best of both worlds..

Room Tip: No Need to leave theisland pleanty of restaraunts, got to baileys for food, essentials, rent a bike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our first visit to Sanibel Island. My husband found Casa Ybel while searching the internet for ideas. The resorts web site looked great plus i did read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor. We took a chance and soooo glad we did. The resort was beautiful. The one bedroom was fantastic. The room was huge. Kitchen was updated. I can't say enough about it. The balcony was wonderful. We used to sit out at night listening to the waves. Every room does have a view to the magnificent Gulf! Since reading reviews i was prepared to pay for rental of chairs and umbrellas. Initially i thought it was pricey $118 for 2 chairs w/umbrlla for week. But we did it anyway and i felt it was worth it. The chairs/umbrlla were always ready for us @ the beach. Easy to find!THe beach was spectacular, the water was warm, the sandbars are awesome, the shelling was sooo much fun. The beautiful Thistle Lodge was no more expensive than any of the other rest. on the island. Well worth the Sunday Brunch and Dinner. I LOVE THIS PLACE AND IT IS OUR NEW FAVORITE PLACE. . I WANT TO GO BACK ALREADY. Renting bikes was also loads of fun. Great way to incorporate excercise for family and great way to explore the island. Rented mo-peds as well and that was great fun too... LOVE SANIBEL. LOVE CASA YBEL

Room Tip: Can't image any room being bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Partyof3560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Sanibel often and usually stay at the Sundial, but I had a larger party and Sundial couldn't guarantee that the second "bedroom" was separated by more than a partition. I arrived a Casa Ybel early and they were kind enough to take my cell number to call me as soon as my room was ready. The kids played on the playground and swam in the pool while we waited. The pool was very big and there was a small kids pool right next to it. We checked in early and we were overwhelmed by the room. It was beautifully appointed with a large screened porch looking onto the beach. The beds were so comfortable and it was just gorgeous. It also felt extremely private - the way the units are built, you dont see or hear your neighbors. The next day, when I decided I needed an umbrella, I just called the front desk and within minutes they delivered it right to the beach with two chairs. My kids enjoyed the art projects in the kids club and the staff there was so welcoming and let us stay and do puzzles with them during the heat of the day. I love Sanibel beyond reason, and I will never stay anywhere but here again. My ONE complaint is that the resort didn't provide recycling or water saving options - we threw away a lot of plastic bottles and washed perfectly clean towels. But again, the friendliest service I've had in a long time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jmarshall95678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Third visit to Sanibel, first time to Casa Ybel - a place we hope to return to again and again. We did a LOT of research on the various 'beachfront' resorts prior to our visit and finally decided on Casa Ybel, now we are grateful we did! We will be posting a number of vids on YouTube from our trip so you can see for yourself, but the fact of the matter is that this place is right on the beach and it's awesome

TIPS:
a) EVERY unit has a nice screened patio that looks out on the ocean.
b) The walk to the beach is very short and if you request one of the outer buildings, it's like having your own private beach because it's not crowded.
c) the pool area is really quite large for the size of resort and pool area they have a lot of pool floats that you can use for free to just relax
d) coconuts is the pool bar. they have happy hour from 3-5pm where you can get drafts for $2.50!
e) FREE Parking!
f) NO resort fees!
g) $30/day to rent 2 beach chairs and an umbrella - they set it up before 9am and take down after 5pm. Its worth it
h) amazing shelling on the beach and because not crowded you can get lots of good shells. they also have shell cleaning stations for you
i) rooms are larger than I thought they would be. great to have a full kitchen. they have all the dishes and appliances you would need including coffee maker, microwave, oven, full size fridge, and even a can opener (great when you brought beer but forgot the opener!). beds very comfortable, even the pullout mattress was comfortable (no bar in your back!)
j) friendly staff
k) did NOT get nickel and dimed to death like at most resort properties - like I said, no parking fees, no 'resort' fees, the ONLY thing we paid extra for on our final bill was just the cost to rent the beach chairs/umbrella and that was our choice and not something you 'have' to do if you don't want to.
l) great location, centrally located, with a lot of shops and eateries close by on periwkindle drive
m) large gas grills available in front of each unit, free to use
n) the 'first floor' units are actually on 2nd floor because buildings are elevated so if you have toddlers request first floor or else you will have to climb TWO flghts of stairs for upper level units
o) request to be near pool if you want to be 'close to the action'; request one of the outer units if you want a more quiet vacation - it's still a short walk to pool from outer units
p) other activities - beach volleyball, shuffleboard, kids playground, kids club activities (min age 4), etc

BOTTOM LINE - if you want to really stay on the beach in your own 'townhouse-like' private unit, this is the place for you. we hope to return here year after year.

Room Tip: request by pool to be close to action. request end units for quiet relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank thehelpfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing