We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely”
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here in February of 2013, Super friendly staff! The bathrooms were newly remodeled and I love the white cabinetry and clean gray and white granites! Kitchen area was spotless! I didnt wake up one time during my nights there! Thats AWESOME! Quiet, Clean, remodeled, loved the bathroom colors and bedroom paint colors and excessories, Very clean looking! Coffee on the scsreened in porch in the morning with the sunset was awesome! We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatseekinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your "rave" review. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,853)
There are newer reviews for West Wind Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. We were supposed to stay 3, but Storm Nemo canceled our flight home. If we had known ahead of time, we may have chosen another place mostly because we wanted a housekeeping suite and because this hotel is old. I kept thinking if they only updated the paint, bedding, ac units, and old towels, it would really be a lot better. It was a good price for this area, at $199 night for a basic room.
The negatives- they cover their mattresses with plastic, so we did not sleep well at all in this room. It makes you sweat and makes noise when you shift positions. If you are a light sleeper, you will have problems. The AC has a musty smell, mostly we did not need it. The breeze from the ocean was wonderful. If you go when you do need to rely on ac, you will have to get used to a musty odor.
They have a small bar by the pool and offered Happy hour on Fridays only. The pool chairs could be updated.
This hotel has a wonderful location in the less crowded part of Sanibel. Close to the Ding Darling reserve and right on the beach, we could watch the sunset from our tiny balcony.
Next time, I would look in the same area, but for nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean for sunset watching.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muchogracias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We share your good feelings about the location of West Wind Inn. We work hard to maintain the same standard for the accommodations. Try us again next time you are on Sanibel Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff in the reception is super-friendly and helpful. The pool area is great. The restaurant is very good and not too pricey.
The only thing is that other restaurants are outside walking distance, but with a car it's 5 min.
Broadloom feels very strange for Europeans like us. Gets soggy in the humid climat. However, it's nothing to bring up in the whole impression.
I'd choose West wind again if I'm going to Sanibel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B42L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. We take pride in the positive attitudes of our staff, who share our enthusiasm for Sanibel and having you visit us. We hope your "if" you return to Sanibel becomes "when" you return. We would live to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I came to West Wind on a Road Scholar tour of Sanibel Island and stayed a few extra days on my own. What a lovely place! The best thing about it is their restaurant which is top notch! (Lots of locals eat there and applaud it as well).

Pros: Besides the wonderful restaurant, it has some very pretty grounds (check out the butterfly garden and the koi pond under the bridge). It has a nice beach as well and a lovely pool and bar area. The rooms, while not fancy, are very nice. I also liked the screened in porch that I had.

Cons: Remote location. No commercial area nearby. You need a bike, car or taxi to get anywhere! No bell hops available, but other staff members were very helpful to me in assisting me with my luggage. No fitness center available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at West Wind Inn. We like to surprise guests with stays that are even better than they expect. Our location on the quiet beach is one of them. As is our restaurant. As you realized, when one is away from the crowds one is away from the things that draw crowds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

West Wind has a lot of good things going for it: really nice people working there, good location, nice pool area with pool bar, restaurant, tennis courts, bike rental, etc. The big but is that the rooms could use some updating, especially mattresses and pillows.

We will try another hotel next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our apologies if the bed was not of the firmness you are used. to. When you return, and we hope you will, please let us see if we can put you into a room with a more suitable mattress for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location was right on the beach, at the end of the hotels, so in an uncrowded area. The price would have seemed high to me, except for the excellent location. We had a screened porch, and in the mornings could walk out the back door onto the beach, and in the evenings, watch the beach. We kept forgetting about the daily newspaper, and would discover it on our doorstep each day.
However, don't choose this place if you want luxury linens--they don't come with these rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We agree that our location is one-of-kind when it comes to beachfront, quiet and lack of crowds. We will lok into your comment about linens and see what we can do for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My compliments to the staff. They were as helpful as anyone could ask them to be. The room, the grounds, the pool & adjacent libations distribution outlet were superb. A short hoof to the Gulf, with great fishing right off the beach. My only complaint is: I couldn't stay longer, but I'm looking into going back this year.

Room Tip: Not sure, just choose one & enjoy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

What a nice review! We value them all but some are even more rewarding, as was yours. Do come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,361 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
690 reviews
4.2 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $177 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing