We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better beds would help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better beds would help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

West Wind has a lot of good things going for it: really nice people working there, good location, nice pool area with pool bar, restaurant, tennis courts, bike rental, etc. The big but is that the rooms could use some updating, especially mattresses and pillows.

We will try another hotel next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our apologies if the bed was not of the firmness you are used. to. When you return, and we hope you will, please let us see if we can put you into a room with a more suitable mattress for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    511
    140
    67
    14
See reviews for
415
704
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location was right on the beach, at the end of the hotels, so in an uncrowded area. The price would have seemed high to me, except for the excellent location. We had a screened porch, and in the mornings could walk out the back door onto the beach, and in the evenings, watch the beach. We kept forgetting about the daily newspaper, and would discover it on our doorstep each day.
However, don't choose this place if you want luxury linens--they don't come with these rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree that our location is one-of-kind when it comes to beachfront, quiet and lack of crowds. We will lok into your comment about linens and see what we can do for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN BURNIE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My compliments to the staff. They were as helpful as anyone could ask them to be. The room, the grounds, the pool & adjacent libations distribution outlet were superb. A short hoof to the Gulf, with great fishing right off the beach. My only complaint is: I couldn't stay longer, but I'm looking into going back this year.

Room Tip: Not sure, just choose one & enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
What a nice review! We value them all but some are even more rewarding, as was yours. Do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found the West Wind Inn to be perfectly located on the far end of Gulf Dr. away from all the hustle bustle of the beautiful Island. Rooms are satisfactory and well equipped with wonderful views of the Gulf, even from poolside. Hotel beach is less traveled by tourists and grounds are very well maintain. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Sanibel is a popular island, especially in "season". But there are some more secluded areas and that's what you found at West Wind Inn. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family of 3 had a lovely second stay here - our first time was about 16 years ago. Room was well maintained, staff was very welcoming and helpful. Hotel has one of the best locations in Sanibel - located on the quiet section with easy access to great shelling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We're glad to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at West Wind Inn. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the West Wind for a week in early January and it was our 9th return stay.

We choose the Inn over other Sanibel hotels for the location, the rooms and the fact that we know any issues are rectified immediately and without any fuss.

We choose a second floor room so have no noise problems. The kitchenette facilities are ample and allow us to make our own breakfast each day and occasionally dinner in the evening.

The rooms are spacious although we do not spend much time indoors and the screened porches are great for sitting out.

The pool area and grounds are well kept and due to our timing it is never terribly busy when we visit - a real bonus.

I wasn't aware we could use bikes for a short time for no charge or indeed umbrellas or beach chairs so I will have to investigate ahead of our 2014 visit which has already been booked.

We once had the misfortune to stay somewhere else on the island and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than here. Put simply - if it's not available then we wouldn't come to Sanibel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Such loyalty is greatly appreciated. If there is anything else you need for your 10th return, let us know ahead of time. Thank you for this nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

From check in to check out, a marvelous place to stay. One of the greatest beaches on Sanibel to find shells. Nicely appointed rooms, with balconies all facing the sunset. Pool with pool bar, beautifully maintained grounds.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be a bad choice in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrewcary11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is rewarding to know our efforts result in happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Property: West Wind Inn
Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing