We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key, cozy beachfront fairly priced resort.”
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Recommended by the local chamber of commerce,the West Wind Inn provides all you need for an inexpensive stay on Sanibel Island. Recently refurbished, it reminds one of the Catskills in the 1960's, but location,location,location, it is right on the beach. Clean, with all of the amenities you can let the Gulf rock you to sleep. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenvet810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,580 - 1,586 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

Right on the beach, view of the pool from our room. We rented bikes here and wandered about the island. Helpful staff at the desk - good suggestions and information provided. Room had a fridge and microwave, a few dishes and glasses, and extra sink. Screened in porch. Felt like the "good old Florida". very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank letsgo2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in May 2011. The staff is not friendly at all. From the moment we checked-in to the moment we spent quite a bit of money at the pool bar, we were made to feel like a nuisance rather than guests. They gave us 2 beds instead of a one so we had to sleep separately. They said they were fully booked and could not accomodate us with another room. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and old as well as the decor in the room. The bathroom was pretty gross too. @ the pool side bar, the bartender was the unfriendliest bartender ever. Would not even keep a conversation going after one was initiated. After a few drinks and lunch when we got the bill we found that he added 18% gratuity without even telling us. This was only for a party of 2! We were not advised of the beach umbrella policy, so of course when we went to reserve one, they were all out. Reservations for the umbrellas have to be made well in advance AND there is a fee on top of it. It's not like drinks or any service is included with this fee. It's just an umbrella on the beach with two beach chairs. Considering all the different places there are to stay, I would certainly NOT recommend anyone stay here. The only reason we chose it was because of the good reviews.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify your needs in advance as well as when you check in so you dont get stuck with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mama_Mugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

In most places the W.W.I. would be a mid-range <$100 motel/inn struggling against the bland big chain inns. But it isn’t in any old place, it has a superb, wide, beach front location on a remarkable holiday island. And all the rooms overlook the pool/gardens or the Gulf, not the parking lot. Many places on the island can’t claim that, and some are comparatively tatty.
So think ordinary, not luxurious, and you probably won’t be disappointed. The rooms are dated, but with some modern features, particularly in the bathroom, and are clean. The grounds are well kept, although the walkways outside the rooms had some gum on. (Blame the guests or the inn for that?).

On a self-proclaimed eco-friendly island the W.W.I. seems to be missing a marketing and eco opportunity. I only noticed one modern economy type bulb fitted in the room, and in spite of literally sacks full of newspapers and advertising being left outside the rooms I saw no reference to recycling. They may recycle, if so tell people!

The inn eatery is the “Normandie”, apparently named after the ill-fated French liner. It is alternatively described a “pub”, “café” or “restaurant”. Think of it as a restaurant with a bar, and give it a try. On an island where gimmicky names and the bucket size of servings seem to count more than quality it is a refreshing change, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Service was good, the only minor gripe was that, in common with most restaurants, the lighting could be brighter. (Maybe an eco policy!).

Room Tip: Go upper floor (US 2nd = UK 1st) for views, especially gulf front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were planning our second trip to Florida for our house hunting expedition and wanted a hotel that felt like a vacation opposed to a "business trip". I picked the West Wind Inn on Sanibel off the internet and it was everything and more. The staff was terrific always wanting to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. They faxed some documents for me without a hesitation (or a charge). When we needed a room change, they went out of their way to make sure I was happy.
The rooms have been updated and nicely appointed. I recommend getting a room with a small kitchen as it is a bit bigger and has a table to do work or eat. All rooms have a screened in lanai so you can sit out without worrying about bugs. The hotel sits right on the beach and most every room has a view of the gulf. Coffee makers were in the room but there was always fresh coffee in the lobby! Also upon our late arrival we found all take-out and restaurants closed. We were able to have a nice little snack of the complimentary microwave popcorn that was in our room.
Now if you are traveling with kids......the most important part..the pool! It was clean, large, and had ample chairs around the perimeter. Of course the beach was beautiful for shelling and walking!
I highly recommend! You will not go wrong!

Room Tip: get a room with a small kitchen..the kitchen will come in handy and the room is a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckelisttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is an annual stay for a girl's week for myself and my mom. This is absolutely the most relaxing and quiet side of Sanibel. I would recommend West Wind Inn (WWI) mainly for adults. Each room has a nice screened-in porch. For a little more you can get a gulf-view room and a kitchenette if you have a longer stay.We have stayed at WWI for about the last 10 years and have never been disappointed. There are more contemporary decorated hotels in the area for much much more money. This suits us fine. We are able to have a quiet breakfast on the porch watching pods of dolphin. A lazy beach morning with a wonderful lunch (try the Grouper salad) at the Normandie restaurant. An entertaining night at the local Schoolhouse Theater on Periwinkle Way and then a sound sleep in a comfortable bed in a very clean and quiet setting. Honestly it is like being at home. I always look forward to staying here. The staff will treat you as family and they have many returning guests we run into each year.

Room Tip: I always stay on the first floor with a gulf room view and kitchenette - Either room 148 or 152.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mveilleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have enjoyed West Wind Inn on many occasions. I live in Fort Myers but go to the island often. I have stayed at West Wind when my family visits. I've always enjoyed the Normandy Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and especially dinner. Jonie is my favorite server there but they are all attentive, helpful and friendly. The Upper Deck pool bar is my favorite pool bar on Sanibel. The bartenders are not only great bartenders but they entertain like comedians! Carrie - love your laugh - its contagious! Darren has extensive knowledge on the island and where to go - just ask him! The best time to find him is on Friday during Happy Hour. You do not have to stay at the Hotel to enjoy the pool bar or restaurant! Thank you West Wind Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
301 reviews
7.8 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
715 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $150 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing