We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful piece of history, interesting!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanibel Historical Museum and Village

Sanibel Historical Museum and Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A delightful village museum that recounts the island's history through photographs, exhibits and live presentations.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful piece of history, interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I finally made it to the Sanibel Historical Museum and Village on my most recent trip to Sanibel/Captiva. I found it very interesting! I have been vacationing on the islands for 8 years, and for that reason, I might have found it more interesting than someone who is there for the first time. The docent was very knowledgeable, and I loved stepping back in time! Children probably wouldn't enjoy this experience very much.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monet3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    77
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perserving and sharing a bit of Sanibel history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Seven historically significant buildings of Sanibel history have been moved to this site from their original locations on Sanibel. Each restored to its original state, preserving and sharing a bit of Sanibel history….learn about the pioneer families, farmers, fishing and proprietors. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank homebaseNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A fun way to step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We enjoyed the docent led tour last weekend. It was very interesting and informative. The tour guide was enthusiastic and really knew most everything there was to know about the history of the island. The buildings that were on display were preserved in great condition. I would definitely recommend this place for a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ivytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Carefully curated collection, wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We SO enjoyed our time at the Historical Museum and Village. Thought it would be more of a dry, obligatory type visit, but so interesting! You can tell that the docents and staff have lovingly restored the buildings and filled them with fascinating objects and displays. All sorts of interesting items and attention to details. Well-worth the $10 admission fee, even for someone not totally into historical things.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank shannonlady85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Last year we went to see the authentic Sears house they have on site and it was wonderful, this year they left us go around by ourselves and there was not a docent on site that was not as nice or informative. Actually they should have someone in the buildings eventually people will learn that no one is around and there will be vandalism and stealing (just a thought) I told my husband that some year will will go down there and it will no longer exist. We still enjoyed it but not quite as much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Historical Museum and Village also viewed

 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Historical Museum and Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing