We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Village”

Sanibel Historical Museum and Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A delightful village museum that recounts the island's history through photographs, exhibits and live presentations.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice Little Village”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our second visit to this site and we learned a lot of things we either missed or forgot from our first trip. The village is not a large Williamsburg type of attraction but is well worth a few hours of anyone’s vacation stay on Sanibel. The buildings and exhibits are well organized and give one an appreciation of how the island developed from a remote agricultural area to where it is today without becoming just another strip of high-rise hotels. We especially enjoyed examining the “Sears” house. The staff all seemed to be genuinely eager to tell their story and answer questions. And the village is still a work in progress so there will be more to see in future years

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    81
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What village?”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Well, it's closed on Sunday. One building was being renovated and it isn't really a 'village.' It's a couple of homes that were moved to this location. But the Farmer's Market next door (on Sunday morning) is fabulous!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LaH20bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Get to know more about Sanibel and its history”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

If the history of Sanibel is of interest this is a must. You will visit original houses that have been moved to this location so that you can get a true feeling of Sanibel and its past.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very well presented”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We finally made our first visit to the historical village after coming to Sanibel for more than 15 years and we were very glad we did. The display of older buildings and the explanation of their role in the history of Sanibel is very well done and interesting. There are many photos and artifacts as well as information on the Sanibel lighthouse. The buildings have been set up as a little "village", and although it's not their true historical setting, it makes for a nice visit. The docents and the volunteers working at the village are very welcoming and informative. It is well worth a trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Piece of History”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Although there are not a large number of buildings, it was insightful and interesting. It let us see and imagine what it was like living on the island when few things existed on the island compared to what it has become today.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLBateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Historical Museum and Village also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Historical Museum and Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing