We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical”

Sanibel Historical Museum and Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A delightful village museum that recounts the island's history through photographs, exhibits and live presentations.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really enjoyed this. Try to get in on a tour. It is a trip back in history on Sanibel. There is a general store with historical books and items.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    77
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A step back in time on Sanibel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The City of Sanibel has gathered a number of historic representative buildings from around the island and put them together so you can tour them and better understand the unique island history. This is a grass roots effort with volunteers in almost every aspect and so not everything is museum quality but the love and effort is there. There are two buildings being added right now so there is some limited construction that does not take away from the experience. If you want to learn about this place, take time to listen to the guides, films and recordings throughout the experience. For $5 an adult, it is worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great preservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

A great place to learn about the history of Sanibel. Well worth visiting. Easily accessible and well maintained

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanibelbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful time capsule on Sanibel Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am so glad that we took the time to visit this historical treasure while on the island, definitely worth it! In our travel party were antique dealers, history enthusiasts, and a curious 7-year-old... we all loved it. The staff there were very knowledgeable and friendly, there were many interesting relics and stories to be told. The village is small which made it easy to get around in the 98 degree heat... we spent about 1 1/2 hrs there taking it all in and that was perfect. A nice stop while driving around and exploring the island. Don't miss it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieMooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
407 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Island treasure of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We try to visit something different each time we come to the island. After reading the reviews for the village, I decided we had to make a stop there. It is small and easy to tour, but it has so much to offer. The docent started us off with a little history and a tour of the home. We proceeded on our own to the various buildings. I love the house that came in a kit from the Sears catalog. The general store contains so many interesting things. The film helps you understand the early history of the island. I've always loved coming to Sanibel, and the village gave me a greater appreciation for this beautiful place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Batmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Historical Museum and Village also viewed

 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Historical Museum and Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing