We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!!!!!!!!!”

Sanibel Historical Museum and Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A delightful village museum that recounts the island's history through photographs, exhibits and live presentations.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very friendly and informative docent's with stories to tell. This is a wonderful museum reflecting how life used to be lived on Sanibel Island back in the late 1800's/early 1900's. Life back then is documented in a video of it's original inhabitants. There is also a
"button" in each building, that if pressed, will start a verbal recording telling you about that building's history.
The museum also covers the Caloosa Indians that inhabited the area before white and black settlers. The museum has approximately 8 or 9 buildings that are chock full of historic "artifacts". I was surprised these artifacts are "not" glassed in nor are the rooms roped off. They allow you to go from building to building and view the buildings at your own pace and virtually everything is accessable (although they don't want anyone to sit on these antique pieces of furniture nor touch the antique dolls, pieces of clothing etc.) and that makes perfect sense, as they are old and breakable.
I'm a Florida native and this is one of the best museum's I've seen that shows "Old" Florida. This is a "gem" and only cost $5.00 and can't be beat!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank susieq581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    77
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Metropolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best by myself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I like gong to the museum best when it is closed, yes, when it is closed. It is easy to look through the windows and it is so peaceful when you are there by yourself. Early, early morning is best. I'd love to be able to slowly brouse through the buildings on my own but sometimes guides talk too long on certain issues which hold me up if taking the tour. Also the new huge home that has been moved there just ruins the whole lay-out. It's too big and too new to fit with the rest of the mix and the little house, whatever it is, blocks the beautiful little Morning Glory cottage. I wish these two buildings hadn't been added. Please don't squeeze anything else in!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Neat Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The historical museum added some variety to our beach vacation. Our guide was wonderful and the historic "cracker" house is a must-see if you are interested in regional history. Beautiful and quirky antiques fill the house and the village has a post office, school etc. The most enjoyable building other than the house was the general store. It had one of a kind souvenirs and it was all reasonably priced. I recommend stopping for an hour or so. It was worth the $5 entrance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FunintheSun717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga ny
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

visited here today with hubby and 6 yr old. loved it. plan on an hour or so. if you have children, have them ring schoolhouse bell and bell on ground. loved morning glories cottage. so sweet. $5 per adult. children free. near library and big arts. run by volunteers and immaculate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank amymiazga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this wonderful little village of historical island buildings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you are interested in barrier island history, you can't miss this. It was only $5 for adults and the children were free. The guides are informed and very nice. You can either go on the tour or just walk around on your own.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyRGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Historical Museum and Village also viewed

 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Historical Museum and Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing