We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET AND RELAXING”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I stayed a week at Sanibel Inn with my husband and his family. There were 8 of us all together. This place is a little piece of Heaven of earth. Our ages ranged from 50-6 and we all really enjoyed this place. Our favorite restaurant on the island was the Island Cow. We ate dinner one night there and it was a little bit of a wait but I figure its like that everywhere that time of year. I highly recommend to do your grocery shopping at Wal-Mart or another bigger grocery store instead of Jerry's on the island. There are a little pricey unless you need odd and end things. We also ate in Fort Meyers at Doc Ford's. This restaurant I will not return to. It is very expensive for the quality of food. THhe shelling is very good at Sanibel. There is not good waves for boogie boarding and snorkeling is not good at Sanibel Inn but was ok at Bowman's Beach. We also went to the Bubble Room one day for dessert. This place is a very neat place to visit. It has alot of different old timey stuff to look at and the desserts are to die for. Great place for all ages!! We rented bikes at Sanibel Inn to ride around the island for a couple of hours. It was a good way to go the different shops. The only thing I did not like is you had to return the bikes early and there was alot of days during the evening that would have been a good time to ride. I recommend you take your own bikes if you can. I also recommend that you go through the wild life refuge on the island. This is a great place to either ride your bikes or drive your car through and slow down and enjoy the scenery and different wildlife. There is a redbox at Jerry's grocery is you like renting movies on vacation. As far as the unit goes, this is a great up to date place that is very clean and roomy. One thing we found out while we were there is there are little bugs called "no see ums". We walked on the beach at night and we got ate up. I had about 80 bites on me and they itch and burt so bad. I was losing alot of sleep from these bites and I had to take benadryl every night to get some sleep. Do not walk on the beach at night if they are out. A local told me that they were really bad around this time because they had alot of rain the week before. These things are no joke!! Definetly take Cutters spray that has deet and the can will say for no see ums. The locals told me this was the best thing to use. Sanibel Inn is on a great island. Its a good place to get away from it all and just relax. It is very quiet and is a great spot on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

The hotel is not fancy but comfortable. The room is clean with all the amenities you would want plus a refrigerator and microwave. We enjoyed the easy access two the beach - Key West type hotel. The staff surprised us with an upgrade to our room with a great view and a bottle of wine since it was our anniversary. . The toll to get into Sanibel Island is $6.00 so purchase grocery items before. We will return!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank AuroraMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

My husband, myself and our two children age 4 and 5 vacationed in Sanibel in June of 2009. Sanibel was great! The weather was perfect! We visited the Ding Darhling Refuge which was great! The restaurants we recommend The Blue Giraffe great food, The Hungry Heron,Island Pizza -great pizza we ate here 2x, The Island Cow very dissapointed food was bland and they overcharged us; we ordered 4 drinks for the 4 of us and were charged for eight if you go there make sure to review your receipt. We stayed at Sanibel Inn which I chose based on reviews. The place was nice, the bathrooms looked to be recently updated and the grounds were nice, the kids loved the pool, the ocean and looking for seashells. When we arrived at our room in the TV was not working and the AC was not working, but it was immediately taken care of. When we retired for the evening I realized too late that the sheets had not been changed and that one of the pillows my son was sleeping on had a big black stain on it. I called the desk and they sent someone over; I asked for new bedding and we left for the beach came back and realized she just remade the bed with the same sheets and left the stained pillow. They sent another person and she did a good job. We will not be staying here again.

1  Thank meishdublinOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Great family place to stay with a beautiful view. We stayed in the 2 bdrm suite; dishes, pots & pans, microwave, stove-top, oven, washer & dryer, coffee & coffee pot, and fridge included. Anything that we needed was immediately brought to our room. The hotel also supplies bikes for guests to ride on the island. We could not have asked for a nicer experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanoCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Check in to a Periwinkle Beachfront Suite a breeze..Front desk very friendly and gave a wonderful first impression. Room smelled wonderful...was clean...and very cool (a good thing) The couch was a little questionable. Cushions stained and not something I felt 100% comfortable sitting on. It also was a pull out bed and they had removed the mattress causing it to be very uncomfortable. Call to the front desk and they immediately sent up pillows to prop up the cushions and that was fine but the next day they did bring up the mattress. Pool was fine and the beach chairs were free and plentiful as were the beach towels. It was quiet and peaceful and short walk to the beach. Check out a different story..there was a charge for a long distance phone call that WE DID NOT MAKE. Front desk took the charges off without to much of a problem but it still made me mad that I trusted housekeeping in the room and someone sat and made a phone call while we were out. Made me wonder what else they did. I also noticed that a few of our bags and jewelery box were opened or in a different place after cleaning and for that reason alone I can not say that our stay was 100% perfect but it was OK. I enjoyed our stay but will most likely never return to Sanibel Island so thats why I say that I would not stay at this hotel again but if I were to return to Sanibel Island I may try a different one just for the novelty of it. I did not dislike our stay here to be honest until the whole check out "ordeal" so I can not say how biased I am being but let me reiterate that they did take the charge off without to much of a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmissy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed here in the off-season- low price but great room, excellent view, friendly service. Our room looked out upon the gulf and the beach was a short walk away. They had a pool, but why swim in a pool with the gulf right there? It was gorgeous, warm and inviting. The room was cleaned to perfection, the shampoo, conditioner and body wash were in larger bottles, and were good products. Every morning the NY Times was delivered to our doorstep. Loved it and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

we stayed at the sanibel inn in late july, the three of us, in the perwinkle wing and had a marvelous time on their lovely beach, the reception staff were very kind, gracious and professional...the room was nicely appointed, the airconditioning worked perfectly(good thing!), nice to have the towels and recliners included(the umbrellas would have been nice as well, but this is a business)...the screened-in porch/balconeys were especially nice, all of the staff were courteous and we would recommend this facility to others, nice stay! keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
721 reviews
10.6 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $206 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing