We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall worked for us with some drawbacks”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This complex is in a GREAT location - the beach is not as crowed as other areas and you can walk in either direction for at least a mile on beautiful sand with amazing shells. We had a view of the ocean. The condo was a bit dated in parts but the bathrooms were nice and I liked the fresh towels and cleaning every day. Other POSITIVES: Screened in porch! Daily delivery of the New York Times! Nice staff. Bikes. Beach chairs, umbrellas right there to use. The NEGATIVES: Dirty chair seats and curtains and sharps at carpet edges. Walls had smudge marks and there was a closet door with a layer of dust and handprints in it. One lamp had no bulb. The overhead light in our bedroom didn't work unless you screwed in the bulbs and then unscrewed them to turn it off (while hot!). We only had 3 wine glasses. Nothing to wash dishes with other than a hand cloth. Dilute dish soap?! You have to buy laundry soap but the unit did have a washer/dryer. The sofas had a "musty" , damp smell - they need to be cleaned or replaced
.
Despite all that, I WOULD stay here again due to the positives and price but you must decide what you can tolerate. Maybe other rooms are better. We were actually quite comfortable here despite all the things mentioned above!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit that was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Arrived and was told our room wasn't ready. Waited for 1 1/2 hours just to find out that the room was missing clean linnens, towles and a pillow. Also, when booking we were told to expect 2 queen beds, only to find a king a a foldout... When calling front desk to inform and request the missing items, we had to wait an additional 15 min for them to arrive. When it became time to go to bed we saw the fattest ROACH ever! Called front desk to inform and was met with a horrible response "what do you want me to do about it?"
I brought my mom here to show her this amazing place but after this I'm never coming back! This was my second stay here (last time was actually great) but there is no way this is worth $443!!! Rip off!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Apansaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great location and the beach was beautiful. We walked it every day and experienced the "Sanibel stoop"! The room was very clean and comfortable but the shower was a little dated. The check-in area is in desperate need of an update. When we were checking in we thought we might have made a mistake.

The bikes were in excellent condition but make sure you get them early! We got to ride all over the island on great bike paths/trails. We took the bikes downtown for lunch and found it easier to get around on them versus a car! Traffic on the main road is TERRIBLE. Use the bikes it is much easier!

Should we go back to Sanibel Island, we would definitely stay here again. The rates were very good and we think the value was great!

Room Tip: It was definitely worth it to have a room looking out onto the beach. We sat out in our lanai every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pineleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is right on the beach, leave your walk past the pool and onto the sand, very good location as far as that goes. Beach area nice, great shells and hotel provided chairs and umbrellas. Had a 1st floor room which was a little dated and bathroom was worn but decent. The room had a nice screened back porch area that faced the gulf with some obstructions of trees and pool area, so wouldnt quite call it an ocean/gulf view (1st floor). In case you are not aware, from this hotel beach area you can NOT watch the sun go down on the gulf you have to go to other side of island for that view, though you can watch it rise here. Also the water is extremely murky, cant see your hand in front of you. Pool area was nice, with decent food and drinks for purchase but was supposed to be closed at night yet people were out there in it getting loud past 12am, which is fine except for the fact that the pool was right behind our room. Would we stay here again probably not, we found it a little pricey for what it is. Just a heads up there is a $6 toll to get on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank First B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay. Only steps from the beach. We stayed here with our daughter and boyfriend and it was a bit tight for 4 people otherwise the room had all of the amenities a person needs. The sliding door opens to the ocean and it's screened it so we left it open at night to hear the surf. We stayed in the Periwinkle Unit which was the closest to the beach and I'd recommend you request that one. There is a warm pool and a tiki bar a few steps away.
Highlights of our stay: shelling at low tide, the sunrise on the beach, the sunset on Bowman's Beach, tanning in the sun, eating out, the Twins spring training game (about 30 minutes away).
Caution: there is a lot of traffic on Sanibel. The bikes are free to use. Use them to get around unless you're driving a long way, such as to Bowman's Beach.
We'll stay here again when we return to Sanibel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lutherandleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We love this place. We originally stayed here for our honeymoon and had a regular guest room, which we were totally happy with. The next year, we wanted to try to get the same room, but ended up having to get a suite instead. They said they couldn't actually guarantee a specific room, only the room type. The suite really doesn't cost much more than the smaller rooms, and you get extra space. It's a nice option if there are more than 2 people, or if you have kids and want to put them to bed early. The suite does have a small TV in the bedroom. Rooms are beautiful and very clean. WiFi is good. Front desk staff are friendly and service was fantastic. Pool is always clean. I like the 'pool and palms' view, but I do recommend 2nd floor for sake of having a good view of the ocean as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A clean and well run inn for a truly relaxing vacation. Staff responsive, cheerful and helpful - A/C needed cleaning which was done w/i 1 hr of our call to desk. Good location on island. Wi-Fi fine. Screened in porch with gulf view has SE exposure for nice sunrises and afternoon shade - perfect. Walk on beach, lie in sun or under umbrella, ride bikes, swim in gulf or pool, have afternoon bev at tiki bar. Great w/ or w/o the kids.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for best gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
313 reviews
1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
728 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,022 reviews
4 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#15 of 20 in Sanibel Island
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $208 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing