We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet excellence”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My best friend and I stayed here only one night but truly wanted to never leave! Our room was clean woth a great view and welcoming screened in porched.The bed was comfy and the bonus of a keurig coffe maker stocked with k cups.,
I left my battery charger plugged in so about two hrs after ck out I called the front desk. They were very helpful and. I returned to retrieve my charger.
The pool was warm and the beach the best on the island that we visited! I cannot wait to return and I highly recommend the Sanibel Inn

Room Tip: They all have a great location but get one overlooking the beach if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soarinval12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Staying here makes enjoying the beach and island very easy. The Inn provides lounge chairs and umbrellas for use on the beach.....they even set them up for you. They have bikes you can sign out and take a ride to shop or just tour around the island. We enjoyed a beachfront suite with a view of the gulf......a second floor suite is a must. Perfect size for the two us. Beds were very comfortable and the linens new. Enjoyed the lanai at the end of the day on the beach with a glass of wine before dining out! Staff is very friendly. Will be back again!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked a bit "last minute" and got into a condo at the Sanibel Inn through Candy Harris at sunsanibel@aol.com - what impressed me the most was that all the photos Candy shared with us were true to life, all the info on Sanibel Inn was exactly as she said. We had a two bedroom, updated, very beachy (artwork & all), very clean and with all the amenities we wanted and more - kitchen well appointed, bathrooms were very modern. We loved the location - a one hour stroll (or 15-20 minute fast walk) to the lighthouse, very close to Pinnochios - wonderful ice cream, and although the condo was privately owned and not part of the in, we could use the nice pool, had drinks at the pool bar, use the beach chairs. We loved the view of the gulf from the screened in deck. If you go through the Inn, from what I understand, you can also use the bikes and kayaks (extra charge per day) and receive the daily maid service. For us, we were outdoors so much, and did not mind doing the bedding, towels (washer/dryer included) and light cleaning ourselves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlvsphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just checked out after a staying at Sanibel Inn for two days. We had a great stay and the accommodations were superior.

My only complaint was the evening check in person, a young women who acted as if she hated her job and was rude. The daytime person, an older lady couldn't have been more opposite. She was cheerful, extra helpful and very knowledgeable about the island, she was just great.

We stayed in room 3713 in the Periwinkle building, first floor. It was spacious, clean and relaxing. The large flat screen tv was great, but honestly we didn't watch much television with a sunny beach mere feet away. We did spend some time at the Tiki bar and it was just superb. The bartenders name was Brian and he was cheerful, professional and definitely knows how to make a great drink. The pool was warm and clean and my kids had a blast in it.

We ate breakfast at the onsite restaurant one morning and although the service was really good, the food wasn't great. It wasn't terrible, but the prices were somewhat high and with the food below average it just wasn't a quality meal.

Our family really enjoyed our stay at this place and plan to return next year. I've stayed in a number of hotels on Sanibel and this one is by far my favorite.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the beach or near the Tiki bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was our first time on Sanibel Island, although we have been to Ft. Meyers and Marco Island before. The Sanibel Inn offered great accommodations that offered all of what we were looking for, and not a lot that we didn't need, at a fabulous value. We used some amenities (Dunes Golf, Poolside bar, beach chairs) and didn't use others (bikes, kayaks, tennis, restaurant). HOWEVER, it was nice to have the things we did not use available as options! I have no problem paying a modest resort fee ($12/day), given all of the recreational options provided. The room was also perfect, a fridge for breakfast, Keurig coffee(!) and a balcony with seaside view. Comfortable bedding, flat screen TV, just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived at Sanibel Inn late at night, to find the room had not been cleaned (unmade beds, dirty towels on the floor, dirty dishes, etc). We called reception and they were mildly apologetic, and said the housekeeping staff was gone so the receptionist would need to clean the room. We left the room and returned about an hour later. We discovered a pair of underwear still in the bathroom trash. Obviously the receptionist was not the most thorough cleaner. At this point, someone from housekeeping was available and came up and took care of it. By this time, we were so creeped out, that we really didn't want to stay, but it was too late to change.
On top of the sloppy management, there were numerous other problems, stained carpet, super uncomfortable sofa bed mattress and inexplicably missing artwork on the all the walls (just the hooks were left).
The management agreed to refund the full amount of our stay, but still I think the Sanibel Inn has a lot of problems to fix before they measure up to the photos on their site.
The one positive note, was the hotel grounds are attractive and the location is superb- right on the beach and bikes are free to guests.

Room Tip: This was a two bedroom unit, and may have been a condo although I don't know if it is privately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank stellacolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The facility was average . My spouse had bug bite staying the room. She had severe allergic reaction to it. Office person responsible for check in was rude.

Enjoyed free bicycle.

We are told that kitchen is fully equipped but range was not functioning adequately.

Room Tip: Ensure that rooms have no bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hemant500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
313 reviews
1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
728 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,017 reviews
4 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#14 of 20 in Sanibel Island
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $209 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing