We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The gulf view setting was perfection. Great shelling. Service was great. I thought the location was convenient and on the best part of the island. We utilized their pool and bikes. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    440
    141
    60
    35
See reviews for
413
571
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is our first time to Sanibel Island and Sanibel Inn. We booked the Sanibel Inn on advice from friends but I am not sure that we will return here on our next trip to the island. The customer service is not what we expected. The hotel was clean, food was ok, the beach access was nice and chairs available here. But little things bothered me like the front desk not noticing that my husband was on crutches and giving us a second story room. The bathroom sink was leaking during our stay and wet out stuff on the counter. We reported it several times but no one seemed to have a record of it. The staff was nice, just not at all eager to make our stay special. Because of that I would rate the Inn simply average and if we return would try out a new place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneBen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very friendly Inn. Rooms clean. Nice beachfront with umbrellas and lounges for your use. Waterfront screened balcony, but hard to see water since you must look over sand dunes. If seeing the water is important to you, ask for a second floor room. However, there are no elevators. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room, but no glasses, cups or anything. Bring paper plates, knives, forks and plastic cups. I missed having a wine glass. Now about their restaurant--go someplace else. Lonely place and bad food. You can do better at many other places on the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

booked this inn after reading a review in sunday magazine. very friendly staff, especially the man in charge of the bike, and sun bed rentals, we stayed in the periwinkle building, which is the closest to the beach, room was clean and comfortable, only small point was shower curtain torn, and balcony covered in netting, but did not keep small flies out, on our second night, we killed about a hundred, that were on the white walls, doors, bedding, they were coming through the netting, and through the air conditioning unit, this did not spoil our stay. restaurant on site, very good, tried two restaurants, on island, which was The Island Cow, which was dirty, expensive, steak I had was all gristle, waitress had stains all down her top, and the other was The Lighthouse Café, dirty ,or they think shabby chic, NOT. sausages were raw, I complainded and they were just taken away, it was advertised as the best breakfast again,NOT. drove onto Captiva island, could not stop no parking signs everywhere, we have travelled from Canada down the west coast to mexico, and from Toronto down the east coast to Key West, so we have seen a lot of the country, and these two restaurants are the worst we have been to in twenty years of travelling across the States.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Sanibel Inn. My only complaint is the air conditioner was quite noisy, but we were able to turn it off and open the patio door for the night. Check in and check out process was smooth. Room was always kept clean by staff. Nice pool and easy access to beach with free chairs and umbrella service.

Room Tip: Periwinkle building first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks ago. Were in the Jasmine building. We had a great view of the ocean. It was our first trip to Sanibel for a girls get away trip.
Check in was great, very easy. Staff friendly and very knowledgeable.
I would definitely go back. The Inn is easy to find, right off the main drag.
Visited the Easy Over Cafe, Blue Giraffe, Doc Fords, and Inn's restaurant. All food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. We had room 3616, had screened in porch. It was very quiet, no sleeping issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greentea1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Friendly service by both front desk and housekeeping staff. A few things to note: Although they are low-rise buildings, there are no elevators. Even the first floor rooms have stairs up to them. The walkways are not paved they are crushed shells. So leave the heavy roller bags at home. There is a resort charge, which includes use of wifi (a bit unreliable, but it generally worked), beach chairs/umbrellas, bikes, kayaks, tennis racquets/balls. So you won't need to carry all that stuff either. We had a junior suite in the Jasmine building. Couldn't park right up to the building (see note about lugging all our possessions), which was ok. Although it seemed limited, parking was quite adequate with a very short walk. Our building was one of 3? that is ocean front. Periwinkle was next to ours and was also oceanfront. Spend the extra money and get oceanfront! It is worth it to sit on your private screened-in balcony and look out at the ocean at your leisure. If you can climb the stairs, I recommend the 2nd floor as it is a better view. The rooms on the ends are suites with a separate bedroom. Very nice and well appointed. TVs in living room and bedroom, small refrigerator (tiny freezer compartment), microwave, coffee maker (with coffee replenished daily), toaster, blender, dishes and silverware. Open up all the windows and let the ocean breezes through. Ceiling fans in both the living room and bedroom. Ice machine adjacent to Jasmine building. Charcoal grills and picnic tables available. We didn't use the pool onsite, so I can't comment on that. The beach is separated from the buildings by some dunes, but not very far at all. The Inn is conveniently located and is right off the network of bike paths. We had a wonderful relaxing long weekend on Sanibel and I recommend the Sanibel Inn.

Room Tip: get an oceanfront suite - recommend 2nd floor in periwinkle or jasmine building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank homemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing