We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Trip”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my first time at Sanibel Inn. Normally we stay at condo complexes on West Gulf. However I was late booking this year and they were full. Lucky me!! I booked two King Gulf View rooms. I am a vip with expedia and this is a special hotel for them. Upon arrival we were upgraded and given our own two bedroom condo. With maid service and chair umbrella service on the beach and beautiful landscaping and friendly, helpful people. There were bikes and kayak and beach towels we could use for free. This place is beautiful and the people are wonderful - we had one of the best trips ever. Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: If you can do so the condos are the way to go. Private lanais, two beds, two baths, full kitchen, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxanneRKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Property was generally well maintained with poolside bar and rental bikes. Located close to the island entrance with good beach access. Did not try the onsite restaurant but there are very good restaurants nearby on the island. Fine for a family trip but nothing special.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank paul19010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We returned to this property again this year for my wife's birthday in October. This time we opted for a beachside room on the 2nd floor. It had a beautiful view of the beach and just a short walk to the beach. Staff was completely helpful and attentive. My wife likes to walk to the Lighhouse at sunrise along the beach and she did that the 3 mornings we were there. We love this property, you will too.

Room Tip: If you rent a beachside room, ask for the 2nd or 3rd floor, as the first floor room views of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Normally stay at Sundial or Sanibel Siesta residences..so we are used to nice large comfortable places. Those were not available on the dates we wanted so we reluctantly tried Sanibel Inn. Boy, were we wrong to doubt this place. Staff could not have been any nicer or focused on our needs. Room was Gulf view with large very comfortable king size bed, great view, microwave, mini frig and completely remodeled interior. For a nominal $12 fee you get free beach chairs and umbrellas, bikes and kayaks. Staff was very accommodating and handled everything with stealth like precision. Great job Sanibel Inn!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are 2 story all Gulf front. Condos are Gulf view and include multi bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjchh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I decided to splurge on a beach vacation, and Sanibel Inn was perfect. The room was beautiful, and had a small refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave, which made it much more convenient when I didn't feel like going out for food. Although the water in the gulf was murky and brown (thanks to government-controlled drainage of Lake Okeechobee), it was warm and gentle for swimming. There were so many shells on the beach, you just had to become a collector. It was nice to be able to borrow a bicycle, too, for exploring the areas many bike paths.

Room Tip: Ocean-front room (2nd floor) was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel251_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

i would highly recommend. a great spot for a few days.. the rooms in the hotel were great with nice views of sunrise over the beach. The hotel staff were very welcoming and attentive to our needs. i would strongly recommend staying at the Inn on your next vacation to Sanibel

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Donny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just got back from a mini four day vacation on Sanibel Island. We arrived early and fortunately for us our room was clean and ready. It exceeded my expectations. Beautiful view of the gulf, pool, bar and the grounds were very pretty. Every single person we came in contact with were so kind and helpful. The room was spotless. Beds were amazingly comfortable. The screened in patio an added bonus. The beach was great, plenty of chairs, umbrellas, towels, kayaks, bikes, and drinks at the tiki bar..yummy. Bartender was great. The young man who helped us with chairs and umbrellas was so sweet and helpful (please remember to slip him a tip) what a tough job he has. Hot and muggy and he was back and forth all day helping folks. The restaurant on the property serves up delicious meals. Make sure to order the soup of the day. Waiters/waitresses were all EXCELLENT. Can't wait to return. This is my new favorite place :)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and although it was lovely I assume the second floor offers more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
707 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $184 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelClick, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing