We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy!!”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everyone was very friendly, excellent service throughout the complex and the special was great!!
Kayaking was included in my stay as was towels, beach toys, umbrella that he brought down and put in the ground each day!!

Room Tip: ocean view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merkchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    456
    151
    65
    37
See reviews for
437
591
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Everyone at the Inn was extremely nice and helpful. The front desk staff held our bags since we arrived before check in, and we were able to hit the tiki bar and use the bikes to run to the store before our room was ready.

The guys at the tiki bar were great, special shout out to Tommy and Brian. They were so nice. When we ran through a few of the frozen drinks on the menu and then Brian created some new ones for us, which were also great. Those boys need some cooler shirts though, it gets pretty hot behind that bar. We also ordered food from the bar several times, which was good. The guacamole is pretty good. Met lots of nice locals at the tiki also, great times.

The pool area is very nice, restrooms right next to it, so you don't have to venture far.

There's a hut by the pool where you can use the bikes and get towels for the beach. This is very nice when our traveling carry on only. The man at the hut also takes care of the beach chairs and umbrellas, he is very accommodating, if all are taken at the beach he's more than happy to set you up.

We had no trouble getting extra towels in our room, or having room service change out our sheets if requested. The front desk also called us a cab a few times, all requests were handled beautifully by staff.

We only ate breakfast at the restaurant twice, it was reasonably priced and good for breakfast. It's nice to not have to leave the resort if you don't want to.

Our room was a second floor ocean front, we had a great view. The patio is lovely, with insect screens, which is great. Our room was very clean and updated. The beds were very comfortable, the best hotel bed I've slept in.

I will defiantly stay here again when we go back, just lovely. We had a great time.

Room Tip: A second floor ocean front give you a nice elevated view of the gulf. Not sure if the first floor ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NR-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewell, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Sanibel and we chose Sanibel Inn from reading the ratings on Trip Advisor. We were there in mid August 2013. Although it isn't super fancy on the outside, we found the rooms to be very nice! Service was great! Very clean! The food and the restaurant was very good! It was nice to have a pool bar and nice pool! Use of the equipment was fun! We were really really pleased with our stay and will come back some day. The location was excellent! We had a balcony that faced the gulf. I got up before the sun came up and was the only person out there watching the sun come up as I collected shells. Almost a religious experience! Just wish we could have stayed longer! The girl that waited on us at the front desk was so pleasant. Everyone that worked there was extremely pleasant! Only sad thing was that the tram to the Ding Darling wildlife reserve was being fixed so we couldn't go on that tour. Really enjoyed some of the quirky shops and restaurants on the Island. Ate at R.C. Otters and Island Pizza, and enjoyed both of those places. Wish we would have had time to take an everglades tour....Great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhendric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked a two day stay whilst staying in Orlando, the atmosphere on the island and certainly within the Inn was exceptionally relaxing but professional. It had an almost Carribeanesq feel to it without the fear of turning a corner into a 'no - go' area, we would definitely consider a longer stay in the future, the only negative would have to be the increased cost over he mainland be this is definitely worth paying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay! Wonderful, polite staff! Super room! Loved having the beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes and kayaks at our disposal! Loved it ! Nickson took excellent care of us everyday! It didn't matter what he was doing, he got you what you needed! Marva was excellent with our rooms as well!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel and we will be back. We had a screened in deck that overlooked the pool but you could also see the ocean from our window. The beds were very comfy, and the room was very clean. Also, it was quiet. We enjoyed taking the short walk to the beach every day, looking for seashells and playing in the ocean. Also, the hotel provided floats, a kayak, and bicycles, which is really nice. If you want a great vacation place, this is it!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a gulf view - it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a great relaxing getaway. Our first time trip here was awesome with great service, friendly, helpful people. Our room was great. Will definitely come back. Would recommend this to anyone for family, couples, getaway, hide out, and just plain relax.
THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing