We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Summer getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

While being an older property, our ocean view room was both spacious, clean, and updated. The pool was sparkling clean, with water toys for children, and the umbrella/lounge chair service on the beach was much appreciated. Being the summer, and hot during the afternoons, we were pleasantly surprised to see so many European guests. The staff - from the front desk, grounds men, to the maid - were friendly, thoughtful and considerate - a true plus. The restaurant harks back to the 70's - truly retro, including its carpet (a negative if you're a clean freak like me) but both breakfast and service made up for any shortcomings. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piperlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    441
    141
    60
    35
See reviews for
413
572
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Sanibel Inn. What a great place. Clean room. Comfy bed. Super Staff. Everyone was so nice, from the tiki hut bartender and the young man that took our beach chairs and umbrealla to the beach to the ladies that served us breakfast in the cafe. Great People. Very laid back. Sadly it does face east so we saw super sunrises from our room but great sunsets from the property. Fridge and Microwave were great to have. Wish I had known the coffeemaker was a Keurig. We are huge coffee drinkers and I brought our regular coffee, not in Kcups. But we made due. Will remember that for next time. We will definitely be doing a return trip. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Second Floor for a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the basics down: great location, cleanliness, and beach chairs and umbrella service!! Rooms are great, spacious and new. AC blasting so when u come all hot from outside is nice and fresh! This hotel was better than I expected! People that work there are super nice! Will come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmendimase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you're looking for a nice, reasonably priced hotel on the beach, you've found your spot. The rooms have been updated, beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean. Shower pressure and hot water weren't great but acceptable.The buildings themselves are older and have low ceilings. The pool is small and nothing special. There are boogie boards, sand toys, and floats provided by the hotel so that's great for the kids. And there's a tiki bar so that's great for the adults! There are only 2 ice machines on the property (that we could find) so there's a little walk to get ice. Beach front rooms are separated from the beach by sand dunes so you have to walk down to the walkway in front of the pool. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Grounds are very nicely landscaped. Parking is a bit of an issue, especially in the Periwinkle building. Sanibel Inn is not a luxury hotel but is a nice family spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor for view of the Gulf otherwise you'll mostly see just the sand dunes. Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FItraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We read reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to stay for the one day and night that we were in Sanibel. We got in very early, so our room was not yet ready. We were welcomed to use the facilities including the pool and beach. The grounds were very nicely landscaped and maintained. The inn has towels, beach loungers, and umbrellas available. We went to the beautiful and relaxing beach. The front desk called us when our room was ready (which was ready early).
Our two queen bed room was roomy and very nice and clean. The beautiful view we had was of the pool and beach. The beds were comfortable.
Our only complaint is that the A/C unit was noisy at times. As a light sleeper, I was able to fall asleep with the a/c running, but I was aware of it through the night. With that said, it seems most beach hotels in FL we have been to have the same issue. It's very humid, and they need to run a lot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was my third or fourth stay at Sanibel Inn. I had originally booked into a condo, and was so disappointed that I drove over to Sanibel Inn and luckily they had a room for me. The stafff is FABULOUS!! Cory, and especially Shahana could not have made me feel any more welcome. If something is wrong, you know they will take care of it right away. The grounds are lovely, and it's so nice to have the pool bar to order food and drinks from until 7 pm. The beach is beautiful. I also love the location of the hotel, making it easy to get to things on the island but also get off the island without going traffic.

Room Tip: I've loved all the rooms I've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAYSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Driving over the causeway to Sanibel Island was paradise and it felt like a tropical destination, far different from Orlando where we had spent the previous two weeks. The Sanibel Inn was easy to find and on the way we loved looking at the quaint houses with lovely painted fronts and quirky mailboxes shaped like flamingos, dolphins and others. It has such a relaxed vibe. We arrived about an hour before check in but thankfully our room was ready (3726 in Periwinkle block), Cory at reception was very helpful. The accommodation is set in small blocks, painted in pinks, yellows, greens and blues, really pretty. Our room was on the 2nd floor (you will need to take your cases up a few stairs) and was a beachfront guest room so had the best view of the sea. It was more compact than I thought from the hotel pictures but had 2 VERY comfortable queen size beds, A/C, ceiling fan, fridge and microwave. I assumed there would be basic cutlery but there was nothing provided so we went to Jerry's store and got some plastic knives and forks from their deli section and bought some plastic plates and cups to use. It is not really set out to self cater in - I assume maybe people bring their own stuff if they want to. There is no kettle, just a coffee machine that uses pods. There are gas BBQs for use and an ice machine in the area by the Tiki Bar. Beach loungers and umbrellas are put out by the attendant after 8.30am, but there seemed to be plenty available beach side or poolside. I gather that we visited in low season and that it is very busy feb-april. Towels are available 8.30am - 5pm. The pool area is clean and it is graded well with shallow areas as well a 8ft depth. All staff are exceptionally friendly. Just a short walk across the boardwalk from the pool and you have an amazing beach, shallow sea and awash with shells. We perfected the Sanibel Stoop, bending down looking for shells. We bought shelling bags from Jerry's store to collect them in, and by the BBQs there is a place where you can wash off your shells if you want to keep them. There are so many restaurants to choose from, all mostly set back from the main Periwinkle Way. We got a really helpful restaurant guide from reception that has all of the restaurants and their menus in, so that made it much easier to decide where to go. Overall it is a relaxing, special place to visit and the Sanibel Inn is a perfect spot to enjoy the island from and reasonably priced for the setting and facilities. We would return if we ever get the chance. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Periwinkle block has direct view of the beach and sea without overlooking any of the hotel amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarzit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing