We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good value accommodation”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good value accommodation”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Driving over the causeway to Sanibel Island was paradise and it felt like a tropical destination, far different from Orlando where we had spent the previous two weeks. The Sanibel Inn was easy to find and on the way we loved looking at the quaint houses with lovely painted fronts and quirky mailboxes shaped like flamingos, dolphins and others. It has such a relaxed vibe. We arrived about an hour before check in but thankfully our room was ready (3726 in Periwinkle block), Cory at reception was very helpful. The accommodation is set in small blocks, painted in pinks, yellows, greens and blues, really pretty. Our room was on the 2nd floor (you will need to take your cases up a few stairs) and was a beachfront guest room so had the best view of the sea. It was more compact than I thought from the hotel pictures but had 2 VERY comfortable queen size beds, A/C, ceiling fan, fridge and microwave. I assumed there would be basic cutlery but there was nothing provided so we went to Jerry's store and got some plastic knives and forks from their deli section and bought some plastic plates and cups to use. It is not really set out to self cater in - I assume maybe people bring their own stuff if they want to. There is no kettle, just a coffee machine that uses pods. There are gas BBQs for use and an ice machine in the area by the Tiki Bar. Beach loungers and umbrellas are put out by the attendant after 8.30am, but there seemed to be plenty available beach side or poolside. I gather that we visited in low season and that it is very busy feb-april. Towels are available 8.30am - 5pm. The pool area is clean and it is graded well with shallow areas as well a 8ft depth. All staff are exceptionally friendly. Just a short walk across the boardwalk from the pool and you have an amazing beach, shallow sea and awash with shells. We perfected the Sanibel Stoop, bending down looking for shells. We bought shelling bags from Jerry's store to collect them in, and by the BBQs there is a place where you can wash off your shells if you want to keep them. There are so many restaurants to choose from, all mostly set back from the main Periwinkle Way. We got a really helpful restaurant guide from reception that has all of the restaurants and their menus in, so that made it much easier to decide where to go. Overall it is a relaxing, special place to visit and the Sanibel Inn is a perfect spot to enjoy the island from and reasonably priced for the setting and facilities. We would return if we ever get the chance. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Periwinkle block has direct view of the beach and sea without overlooking any of the hotel amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarzit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    469
    155
    69
    37
See reviews for
452
598
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our first trip to Sanibel was a Great Experiance, the Sanibel inn was a huge part of this everything was better then expected, room was great, staff was excellent. wouldn't think twice about returning and will be staying longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogland, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked the Sanibel Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews and were definitely pleased with the choice. Well served at Reception, received a room in the pink building and enjoyed pool And sea view! Free parking, no elevator in this building, on 2nd floor, 3 small stairs, but no problem for us. Microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room. Vending machine and ice machine around the corner. Really special: free use of beach chairs, umbrella's, bicycles (be sure to be there on time, limited bikes) and free use of kayaks! Free pool/beach towels! Beach is just a boardwalk away. Amazing sunset and shelf collections. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere so much, that we xtended our stay with one night. Reception did all possible to keep us in the same room and they managed. Thank you @ Sanibell Inn, great!

Room Tip: Many, if not most rooms have excellent view. If you cannot walk stairs, please indicate this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolanda_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My daughter just moved to Ft. Myers. I thought it would be nice to spend quality mother/daughter time before I had to head back home. We were in the Periwinkle Building which is one of the closest buildings on the beach. However, from what I could see even the buildings surrounding the pool had some gulf view. I honestly didn’t see a building I wouldn’t stay in. Although we didn’t try it there is a restaurant on site. In addition there is a pool bar that serves the lunch menu until 7 pm. Great burgers and frozen drinks!
All of the employee's from the front desk, housekeeping, maintenance (I got something stuck in the room safe - my error), pool bartenders, to the beach service were always friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located on the east end of the island. Therefore the sun does not set over the water. However, it is a quick trip to the other side so you can easily enjoy a sunset view close by. Plenty of shells.
There are a couple of free standing ice machines and soda machines on the property.
Hotel offers free use (included in resort fee) of bicycles and kayaks. The weather was beautiful the 3 days (Fri-Sun) we were there. There always appeared to be both available.
Bed was extremely comfortable - no outside noises - great relaxing time.
Quant hotel - I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raretoreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have visited this hotel four to five times and always have been pleased. Our last trip was for a birthday weekend. When I mentioned this at check-in, my boyfriend was handed a bottle of wine (it was his b'day). He was thrilled.

We had a one BR suite facing the ocean and on the end of the unit. We walked on the beach, sat by the pool, sat on our porch in the evenings. It was so relaxing.

The housekeeping staff was extremely nice to us. Whenever they saw us, they always said hello and asked if we needed anything. Our room was kept clean and neat each day.

We rode the free bikes the hotel provided, used the towel service and also had an umbrella brought down to the beach each day. One day we went out late and all the chairs were taken. The guy asked us to wait a few minutes. He went and got chairs from another place (we realized this because the chairs were a different color than what everyone else had). He never complained and when we tipped him, he was so grateful.

The place is awesome in many ways!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the suite. They are typically on the end. Each unit has a porch. Althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Sanibel Inn was located right on the beach. Our location was right by the walkway to the beach and our views were great. We had two rooms and asked for adjoining but they were unable to give us side by side. However we had rooms above one another, so the trip up and down the stairs was not too bad. At least we were in the same building. The staff was very friendly and we were able to get beach umbrellas and chairs first thing in the morning, along with bikes during the day. The cafe that is on site at this inn was definitely not worth it. We went there because we had a resort credit. The menu is very limited, the food came out all at different times, and the portions were small, except for all the potatoes they gave. Go to overeasy cafe or island cow. Overall great location. If you are staying in sanibel area, pick a hotel on the island not far away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great location, very family friendly! We had not been there before, so we weren't sure what to expect from the island or from the Sanibel Inn, but our expectations were high for both based on what we'd heard from family and friends. The Sanibel Inn was charming and perfect for a relaxing weekend. Excellent location for shelling. We look forward to staying there again in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goulartn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing