We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Place We Stay”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, FL
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Only Place We Stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I have chosen Sanibel Inn as the only place we will stay whenever we drive down to Sanibel Island. Yes the rooms are a little pricey but the prices are the same everywhere else you go so it doesn't really matter.

We normally stay in a beachfront suite but we were going for a one night trip so we cut back a little by staying in a Pools & Palms room. Rooms are always clean and tidy. Was happily surprised to see a K-Cup machine in the room. I will definitely make sure I bring my K-Cup coffee from home (Donut Shop was good but I prefer Breakfast Blend). The bed was comfortable and the view was good. Bathroom was clean and we had great water pressure. And we always love the Rusk body wash and soap they have. The sink is a little difficult to get to since I am short but it works.

The walk to the beach is not a big walk and it's better to just use the hotel beach than to try and find a place to park at one of the few public parking and pay $2.00 an hour.

We bring our own umbrella but we do like to use the beach chairs and the guy that sets up the umbrellas offered to drill our hole which was very nice of him since it wasn't one of their umbrellas.

The girl at the check-in/out counter was very professional and to the point when we arrived. We arrived around 10:00am and went to check-in and she very sternly told us that we were WAY early for check-in and our room was still occupied so we would have to wait which we didn't have a problem with but we never had a problem with early check-in. We think she just could have been a wee bit more friendly letting us know this. But we went and hit the beach and she called us about 2 hours later and let us know that our room was ready so we went and got our room keys. She was friendlier this time around.

We love Sanibel Inn and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zdavis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    469
    155
    69
    37
See reviews for
452
598
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Extremely disappointing - I would rate this place a 4 out of 10. Old, not kept up well. Room looked like early 1970's, and was dirty. Very poor water pressure in the shower. All walk ways and roads throughout the complex are gravel and dirt. Not nice! We would never recommend this place There are many other places on Sanibel that are a lot nicer. Also, the so-called exercise facility is 1 1/2 miles away - not convenient. Toilet backed up twice. Light fixtures were falliing apart. Our ocean view room was at least 100 yards from beach. Carpeting was extremely stained and felt grimey. We kept our sandels on at all times - Yuck. This place felt like a cheap hotel room

Room Tip: You shouldn't have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cinder17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Large room for a good price through hotwire.
Great relaxed atmosphere, nice little pool.
Would have liked some umbrellas to take to the beach.
Upstairs neighbours were a little noisy, but not in the middle of the night fortuntely!
Complimentary breakfast is a joke to be honost...
Enjoyed the rental bikes.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilhornis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We luckily were moved here from another of the Sanibel collection inns. We stayed in a water front room. We had a fridge and a screen balcony with an ocean view. It was very nice. A little pricey for an inn with little services, but that is the way Sanibel is. The room was clean and nicely decorated. it is right on a sandy beach with lots of shells. The pool is nice. It did have an ouside bar, snack area where they sold sandwiches, etc. We did not eat there thought. You did have to pay $10 to use an umbrella for the day, but it was much nicer than the other hotel we started out on (Seaside Inn- same owners). The beach chairs were complementary as were the bikes and beach towels. Lovely island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcolrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed in the Pool&Palm suite (room 3216). It had a separate bedroom, and a kitchenette. We felt the overall size of the room was great. The bedroom definitely felt separated from the rest of the suite, and the bed was very comfortable. The room also had a screened in balcony which added to the living space - great area to wait while your toddler naps! We couldn't see the beach, but the view from the balcony was very lovely too - palm trees and local plantings.

Overall, it was a great experience, and we would definitely stay again. I also highly recommend the Sea Star Cafe, a restaurant at the inn. The food was always good, and the service exceptional. Traveling with a toddler, we appreciated being able to dine close to our “home away from home”.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivacatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in an oceanfront suite, which had a screened in balcony and a lovely view of the beach. This hotel had everything we were looking for: a pool, a pool bar, near restaurants, on the beach and not crowded. It was a perfect place to relax! The grounds were beautiful, with lots of pretty plants and trees. The beach was lovely and we enjoyed many walks on the beach, including a moonlight stroll. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room was spacious and fine for our needs, however it was overpriced for what is was. The couch and carpet were old and dirty; and the bed was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yve2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2011

While the location was wonderful, the condition of the room was not. I had made reservations months in advance because of my mothers health conditions and requested a ground floor unit. When I arrived they had neglected to do that even though it was noted on reservation. To the credit of the staff at the time, they were able to get me a room. When it came to the "hideaway" bed, I was appalled, there were huge black stains under the matress (mold or bed bugs...not sure I want to know). Also, there were no linens for the bed. I requested some at the desk and they brought over a rolled up blanket in a garbage bag. Given the price of the room I would expect much better. When I complained I was told they would look into it. Not sure if they did or not. Needless to say the couch remained folded up for sleeping. The entire room was in need of an update, with stained furniture being the first that should go. Loved Sanibel, but not this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniet825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing