We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shore Thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Breeze Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Shore Thing”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a last minute Spring "break" for myself and my older children (college-age). The Gulf Breeze cottages are located in a little cove, nestled between some condos. The office staff is very nice and helpful, and we had no issues with check-in/check-out. The one thing that I would say is...it was more than 500 steps to the beach (for me, anyway) and our unit was located outside of the compound...so we didn't have a view of anything other than the house across the street. I knew that going in, but I ust didn't feel like a part of the Gulf Breeze "community" if you will. The cottage was clean, well-equipped and suitable for a sleeping, eating, chilling. Were I to do it again, I think I would lobby to be in an unit that is contained within the compound. Our grill never did work properly, but that wasn't an issue. One suggestion I might have, is perhaps an update on the towels (beach in particular)...they seem really old. Clean, but old.

Room Tip: 12 and 12A are not within the confines; I took what I could get because I booked so late, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    41
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this cottage complex for 2 nights in January 2013. We drove over from Fort Lauderdale after a cruise, a pleasant drive on I-75. We were a party of 5 and rented cottage 12A, a cottage in the complex with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. This cottage was unique in that it was separate from the other cottages and was across the road in with other homes, we suspect it is a converted home property. The cottage was well maintained, clean, air conditioned, well equipped and had a "homey" atmosphere. The kitchen was equipped with a full-size stove and refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, lots of dishes, glasses (including wine glasses) and cutlery, pots and pans and dish soap. The bathrooms were clean and well stocked, one had a tub/shower, the other a shower stall. There was a large flat-screen TV and Wi-Fi. The beach was only a short 5-minute walk away, beach towels were supplied and you could take a beach chair down with you from a patio near the beach. The property had a nice front and back yard, a deck front and back with chairs and an umbrella and a propane BBQ at the rear. Parking is in your own driveway. We were only there a short time and did not need them but for a longer stay there are washers and dryers available. We did not need housekeeping but for longer stays towels are exchanged every few days. The area is lovely and quiet and the surrounding properties are very well maintained.

Room Tip: We believe cottage 12A is the only one with 3 bedrooms/2 baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Gulf Breeze Cottages

Loved this place. Tucked away of Gulf Drive, on a private shell-paved road, the cottage we had was clean, quiet and comfortable. I could end the here. But I’ll go on. Three steps up from ground level, non wheelchair accessible, for those who are interested, you enter you own little domain. The kitchen is equipped for those who want to eat breakfast or lunch in, with stove, fridge, pots, dishes, etc. You supply the food from Gerry’s market about two miles away. Air conditioned and heated if a chill appears on a winter night. This had one bedroom but with a day bed in a sun parlor area. Nice comfy couch and chairs in the living room. Throughout, the house was floored with sparkling clean pine planks. Ceilings were rustic and upper coves were decorated with nice architectural artifacts. Great feature was you had your own parking spot right in front of the door. Also, a decent back deck with a table and umbrella offered a sunny lunch spot on the day we ate the previous night’s leftovers for lunch. It is a short walk to the beach, where on the way, you can also sit at picnic tables to read in a shaded spot to read or sort through your sea shell findings. A few more steps and you are on a quiet private section of Sanibel beach. Towels are exchanged every other day and there is no house keeping.
Loved it.

Room Tip: The street sign, "SHELL BASKET LANE" is obscured driving north on Gulf Dr. No-Outlet stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We recently rented two Gulf Breeze cottages for a family vacation. One was a cottage directly on the Gulf and the other was about 100 ft. away. Both cottages were spotless and very well maintained by the owners, who are very helpful and welcoming. The Gulf front cottage (number 10) has a nice view of the beach, a porch with umbrella and seating for four and is steps away from the fine powdery sand beach.

The Gulf Breeze cottages are nestled between several condo complexes but the landscaping and siting make for a quiet, secluded location in what can be a busy beachfront at times. Some nice features include complete kitchens and one and a half baths in the Gulf front cottage, as well as a nice dining area, Satellite TV, and free WIFI.

The location is pretty much ideal for exploring the Eastern part of Sanibel Island, with bikes for rent on site and many convenient bike trails on the Island. The cottages are within easy walking or biking distance from the shops on Periwinkle Way and the Sanibel Lighthouse is a two mile walk down the beach.

The beach in front of the resort is full of shells and great for swimming. For best shelling, get up early and head up the beach a mile or two--you are sure to find some gems. Some fishing can be done from the beach, but you need to be prepared to wade out a bit since there are a number of sandbars closes to shore. You can also fish from the pier near the lighthouse, or drive up to the causeway or Blind Pass between Sanibel and Captiva for good redfish, seatrout and snook fishing from the shore. (Check with Whitney's Bait Shop on Periwinkle for tide and local fishing info.)

We had a very relaxing and quiet stay at the Gulf Breeze Cottages, where beach chairs and chaise lounges are provided for lounging on the beach and multiple BBQ grills are available for cooking out.

Would recommend heading out to some of the local fish restaurants including the Timbers, Doc Ford's (up on Rabbit Rd.), or to il Cielo on Periwinkle or the Mad Hatter near Captiva for upscale dining.

The management at Gulf Breeze Cottages is superb--very friendly, helpful and willing to provide advice on local activities, bike rentals, and other recommendations.

Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Recommend the Gulf front cottages number 10 and 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We decided on a last minute overnight trip to the beach. We had never visited Sanibel and wanted to check it out. With that in mind we were able to book the night before. The woman we spoke to was very friendly and wonderful in person too. (Hi Sandi) When we arrived everyone was very helpful in making sure we had what we needed to hit the beach. They have everything you need from beach umbrellas to chairs and towels for the beach. Best part of all is the sand toys and wagon since we had little ones with us. The beach was wonderful, the location was perfect. Perfect place to take a family and enjoy some beach time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsxkylur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rooms smell of seaweeds and I was about to vomit couple of times. It may look clean but in reality it was not a clean place at all. Noise from people walking upstairs was too too loud. Do not be fooled by photos as ocean view is not good from rooms. On top of that Sandy and Glen are not nice people to interact.
Such a terrible experience on out special day :(
Next day we went to Holiday Inn and it was perfect. No smell at all.
I heard place like song of the sea are also good. Please avoid this place.

Room Tip: Even if you have to choose this place, go for higher floor rooms and make sure you check map of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bradenton-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sir, Im sorry you were under the impression that you would have top floor efficiency. Our records showed you having reserved a non-floor specific efficieny. We had made arrangements to rectify the problem and move you the next night to a Gulf Front unit at no additional charge. However, it was your decision to leave. As to the level of noise you heard; we only put at maximum 2 people in each room and don't allow children in the efficiency building as to maintain peace and quite. Furthermore, we take pride in all of our units for their high level of cleanliness. If there was a problem with the way the room smelled, we would not have rented said unit. Once again I am sorry you believe that we were responsible for your bad day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family and I stayed in the "Beach House" at Gulf Breeze Cottages last week and our trip could not have been better. My wife and I were traveling with our 3 year old son, 4 month old daughter, mother in law and her friend. The Beach House had 3 bedrooms, spacious living room with ocean views, kitchen, and patio. Our first day in Sanibel, we loaded up on groceries and ended up cooking many of our meals at the Beach House (we saved a TON of money this way as the restaurants can be a bit pricey). The accommodations were comfortable, the staff was very helpful and nice, and the location was absolutely perfect. We could see the ocean and the beach was less than a minute walk from our front door. It was easy to make a quick trip back to the cottage to grab snacks or drinks when lounging at the beach all day. The proximity to the beach was also very helpful for getting the kids down for naps throughout the day. There are bikes available for rent plus beach umbrellas and toys at no charge.

My family and I will definitely be staying here the next time we come to Sanibel! Thanks to the staff at Gulf Breeze for making our stay enjoyable and comfortable.

Room Tip: Beach House is great for families, ocean views, plenty of sunlight during the day, comfortable patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMalone4879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Breeze Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Cottages

Property: Gulf Breeze Cottages
Address: 1081 Shell Basket Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gulf Breeze Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our beautifully decorated cottages and efficiencies feature a living room, dining area, central air conditioning, Satellite TV, VCR and wireless Internet. Cottages with kitchens are fully equipped, while efficiency units feature stove top, microwave and refrigerator. All household linens are supplied and there is on-site laundry available.We are proud to provide our guests with ultra-clean, modern accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulf Breeze Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing