We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down - the BEST!”
Review of Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes - CLOSED

Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes
Price range: $2 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sanibel/Captiva's exclusive gourmet cupcake shop. Choose from a variety of cupcake flavors baked daily. Let us provide gourmet cupcakes for your birthdays, weddings, anniversary, parties, and special events. Featuring LavAzza, Italy's number 1 best selling coffee and espresso. Also serving Queenie's all natural ice cream, the island's most loved ice cream. Open daily 10 am until 6 pm.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ordered three cupcakes, two of which were death by chocolate, the melt in your mouth cake plus the not too sweet icing topped off our visit to Sanibel, would go again if in the area - Good job!

Thank Michelle1958Kenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thanks for the review and we're glad you loved the cupcakes! Death by Chocolate is a chocoholic's dream!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 184 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We normally make the trek down to Pinocchios when we fancy a great ice cream but now we have discovered Dolce Tesoro we have a great alternative. We are not cup cake fans, so didn't try them but their salted caramel ice cream is divine!

Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We are glad you found us and Queenie's Homemade Ice Cream....we love it too! Thanks for your review and please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Last year we were thrilled with the cupcakes here and raved about them to anyone who would listen. So when we returned to our Sanibel island this year we had high expectations and even brought a friend to try them. This was significant because she has gone off sugar for many months now but was "falling off the wagon" to give these cupcakes a try.

Dave, one of the owners, was his usual serious-about-cupcakes yet pleasant and welcoming self and described each one with the careful detail of a sommelier. We brought back to the condo the key lime, the cherry almond, and the salted caramel varieties. Both the key lime and the cherry almond ones were quite dry and tasted a bit old. We didn't get to the salted caramel one. So disappointing.

However, you may wonder why I still gave this place four stars. It's because Dave has a "guarantee" that goes with his cupcakes. So two days later we returned and although Dave was not there himself, his guarantee was. We explained our disappointment and the woman behind the counter thanked us for telling her about the unfulfilling cupcakes and offered to replace them. We had a hankering for ice cream, though, so our Queenies toasted coconut ice cream and an affogato were on the house. Unfortunately our friend had to return home so she didn't get the benefits of the guarantee. However, we sat at those white high top tables outside the shop, enjoying our treats and still feeling very good about this place. Glitches happen - one of the signs of a quality place is that they sincerely want to know when things don't go well and they try to make it up to you. We'll happily come back and if you haven't yet tried this place, don't worry - you're guaranteed to feel good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and for explaining in such detail about your Simply Cupcakes experience. We are SO sorry that the cupcakes were not as good as the previous ones and that you and your friend were disappointed. Unfortunately, once in a while, a "bake" doesn't go as well as others and that is why we always try to tell our customers about our guarantee. We are glad you took us up on it and let us treat you to some ice cream. Thanks for the 4-star rating - based on our customer service this time and not our cupcakes. We hope you will visit us again soon and have another try at our cupcakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped in to pick up dessert for later. The woman behind the counter did a wonderful job explaining each of the cupcakes and how they were prepared. Many very creative creations and each tempting. We selected an egg nog cupcake and a Snickers cupcake. She packed them for us to carry away and they held up very well. When we ate them later that night they were delicious!

Thank reddogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We're glad you liked our cupcakes and had a good experience when you visited Simply Cupcakes....please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stopped in to pick up a red velvet cupcake to take home to my husband (he was busy working while supposed to be on vacation!!!). Ended up treating myself to a toasted coconut ice cream cone....wow!!! Delicious. The cupcake was apparently fantastic as well. A definite go to place for something special.

Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

We appreciate your visit and your review! Glad your husband was treated to one of our Red Velvet cupcakes and that you treated yourself to some ice cream....please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing