We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME Cupcakes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes - CLOSED

Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Description: Sanibel/Captiva's exclusive gourmet cupcake shop. Choose from a variety of cupcake flavors baked daily. Let us provide gourmet cupcakes for your birthdays, weddings, anniversary, parties, and special events. Featuring LavAzza, Italy's number 1 best selling coffee and espresso. Also serving Queenie's all natural ice cream, the island's most loved ice cream. Open daily 10 am until 6 pm.
Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“AWESOME Cupcakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family was on a mini vacation in Sanibel and visited Simply Cupcakes not once but twice! Dave is wonderful; he told us all about the different cupcakes and also told us if we didn’t like our cupcake that he would gladly replace it with another one! Between our two visits we tried the Salted Caramel, Key Lime, Death by Chocolate, Pina Colada, Funky Monkey, Black Tie, Carrot Cake, Red Velvet, Raspberry Waltz, & Chocolate Mint. Needless to say, every cupcake was eaten! If someone didn’t like one, there was someone else that did so no cupcake went uneaten!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adawn96055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Wow! You really did get to try a lot of our flavors and we're delighted that you came to see us more than once. Thanks for taking the time to give us such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    34
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Sweet and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I stopped here by accident because every other coffee shop on the island was closed. I was greeted by Dave, who provided excellent customer service and a cappuccino that was Amazing! This guy knows his coffee. The froth was perfect, and the taste leaves that coffee shop chain in the dust. (We won't name any names!) Then of course, come the cupcakes. Each one looks extraordinary. We tried the Key Lime and were blown away. We will definitely be back to try others. They also have gelato and fudge. This is our new afternoon snack spot. Go early, because they apparently run out, and have to re-stock for the afternoon rush.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gaby1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for your kind review! We're glad you liked the Key Lime cupcake/coffee and thanks for commenting on our customer service...we love our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cupcakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

One a recent trip to Sanibel, we checked out Dolce Tesoro for dessert. The cupcakes were amazing! They were so good that we went back again the very next day. We had both the Black Tie and Chocolate Decadence, and they were both delicious. Definitely check it out when you are on Sanibel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We're glad you found our cupcakes to your liking. Thanks for the review and for telling us the flavors you liked! Please come again when you visit Sanibel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Dave the owner is one of the nicest guys with out-of-this world service...and then there's the cupcakes!!! We just enjoyed a 3 week stint on Sanibel and got on an every-other-day plan for these fabulous cupcakes! We tried just about every flavor: salted caramel, key lime, chocolate decadence, chocolate strawberry, nutella, cherry almond, pina colada, funky monkey, black tie, cookies & cream, espresso (a favorite!), and the scrumptious all-time winner....RED VELVET!!

This is a must hit spot on Sanibel - grab a cupcake and an iced coffee and enjoy the island! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mnmgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your "awesome" review! We're glad that you discovered us during your stay on Sanibel and made us one of your regular stops....that allowed you to try many different flavors. And, we agree, the Red Velvet is one of our favorites. Please visit us again when you return to Sanibel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The best cupcakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

So glad we stopped in to give this place a try. Made right there in the store. They have buy 5 get 1 free special. We tried the salted caramel, funky monkey, key lime, and strawberry. Loved them all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cocobana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We're also glad that you came in and gave us a try! The flavors you mentioned are all BIG sellers and each have their own unique qualities. Thanks so much for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing