We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes - CLOSED

Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes
Price range: $2 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sanibel/Captiva's exclusive gourmet cupcake shop. Choose from a variety of cupcake flavors baked daily. Let us provide gourmet cupcakes for your birthdays, weddings, anniversary, parties, and special events. Featuring LavAzza, Italy's number 1 best selling coffee and espresso. Also serving Queenie's all natural ice cream, the island's most loved ice cream. Open daily 10 am until 6 pm.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stopped in during our first trip to Sanibel and missed the cupcakes as they were already sold out. We turned our attention to the ice cream and the very friendly staff explained the owner's handmade process. We ordered the Fresh banana, toasted coconut and cookies and cream. All were delicious! Since it was Customer Appreciation Day we got a piece Peanut Butter Chocolate of homemade fudge for free which was ridiculously good. Definitely worth the trip. Next time we'll get there earlier for the cupcakes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Sorry that you missed our cupcakes but glad you enjoyed the ice cream and fudge! Thanks so much for the kind review and we hope you will visit us again and get to try the cupcakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    34
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great cupcakes”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have had cupcakes at many gourmet places in NY, AZ and CA and this is the best. Treat yourself, you won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MemberinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We hear a lot from our customers about other cupcake shops across the country...thanks for letting us know how ours rate! Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The most delicious cupcakes and ice cream! Don't miss this gem! Take the ice cream outside and sit in the nearby rockers and just enjoy your day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the cupcakes and ice cream...and, yes, sitting in the rockers and eating ice cream is THE best way to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality and service”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Given the weather conditions this week we have visited almost every place on the island. Until today I felt that every places we visited lacked either good service or quality.. Or both. However this place knocked it out of the park. We were treated with a friendly smile, the staff was knowledgable and the cupcakes and coffee were excellent! Wow!! I think the owners should brach out and start up a second business to teach other business owners on the island how to hire and train employees with good service skills. Service goods a long and Clearly these owners know what they are doing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you SO much for your review....we were blown away when we read it!! You articulated exactly what our vision for Simply Cupcakes of Sanibel is...great quality and excellent customer service. Of course, we enjoy our customers so it is easy to provide quality service to great folks like you AND we believe our ice cream, cupcakes, and coffee speak for themselves. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our trip.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped here on our way back to the airport. The owner was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the cupcakes. My husband and I split a sea salt and caramel cupcake. We also got iced lattes. Everything was wonderful and delicious. It was the icing on the cake that was a great first visit to sanibel. We will bring our kids back next year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are excited that you found us - even if it was at the end of your visit to Sanibel. Glad to know that you plan on bringing the family next time....we love the island and know they will too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing