We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Treats”
Review of Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes - CLOSED

Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes
Price range: $2 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sanibel/Captiva's exclusive gourmet cupcake shop. Choose from a variety of cupcake flavors baked daily. Let us provide gourmet cupcakes for your birthdays, weddings, anniversary, parties, and special events. Featuring LavAzza, Italy's number 1 best selling coffee and espresso. Also serving Queenie's all natural ice cream, the island's most loved ice cream. Open daily 10 am until 6 pm.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet Treats”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great coffee, desserts, and ice cream in this cool store nestled in Tahitian Gardens Shopping Center (near Cheeburger Cheeburger) along Sanibel's Periwinkle Way. Sampled multiple flavors of ice cream while chatting with friendly owners Dave and Iva. Also offers gourmet cupcakes which we will order for pick-up next time we entertain. Well worth seeking out or give yourself a needed break while strolling the shopping center.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We always enjoy meeting new people and talking with our customers....it really MAKES our day. Look forward to seeing you again and assisting you with your cupcake order!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    34
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee and dessert in Sanibel”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We wandered into Dolce Tesoro lured by the beautiful cupcakes. But it was not just the baking that made us stay, and then return. The owner, Dave, made us instantly welcome, and prepared an ice cappuchino that is by far the best on the island. We came back after lunch for the all-natural ice cream, and I can say with total confidence that the mint chocolate chip is fantastic. On our third visit during our three days in Sanibel we met my friend for a brand new dessert on the menu, an afigato, warm espresso poured over vanilla ice cream. Not to be missed. Dave had also started to use coffee ice cubes for his ice coffee, which keeps the drink from getting watery as time passes. That, to me, is a very good thing. Don't miss a visit here, I would pass up restaurant desserts and save room for the cupcakes. And Dave will make you feel like an old friend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and we are glad you felt so welcome at our shop. We appreciate your suggestions and feedback. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My new favorite thing!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A friend suggested we meet here because their ice cream is heavenly. Well I thought I'd tried everything but I have found my new favorite thing. Affogato ( ice cream + a shot of espresso ) it has everything going for it, the kick of the great coffee and the beautiful creamy gelato. The mix of hot and cold, the bitter and sweet, the delicious cream cap that pools beneath the Ice cream. I won't be able to have ice cream any other way, I'm taking my husband there today to try one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarabellap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback on our addition to the menu! We will continue to try new coffee drinks and cupcake flavors to satisfy more and more of our customers' desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Cupcake!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wandered in during a recent trip to Captiva/Sanibel. The owner was very gracious and welcoming. Our family of four tried four different types of cupcakes (the kids also tried the ice cream), and everything was wonderful. The cupcake (especially the icing) was probably the best I've ever had, perfectly done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Wonderful! Glad your family liked the cupcakes and enjoyed your visit...please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Cupcakes”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a great find! We had the Key Lime and Mint Chocolate Cupcakes. Both were delicious!! Dave makes great cappuccino and hot chocolate as well. If you're there before ten, knock on the door. Dave is a wonderful host and may be able to make that cup of coffee a little earlier than opening time (10:00am). I would highly recommend Simply Cupcakes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveling2places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
So glad you visited and enjoyed the cupcakes and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing