We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just dropped in - great food”

George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: George & Wendy Schnapp both moved to Sanibel Island in 2002, George from Buffalo and Wendy from Chicagoland. They met on the island, fell in love and married in 2007. George has been in the restaurant business for over 30 years. Together they opened George & Wendy's Seafood Grille in 2011 to provide a place where locals and visitors could come and enjoy good food, drinks and entertainment. We are open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week offering an extensive menu sure to please any palate. The Chef and General Manager work together with their team to provide a welcoming dining experience for all. George and Wendy's Seafood Grille offers one of largest Hand-Crafted Cocktail menus on the islands, 20 beers on tap, an extensive wine list and a full liquor bar. Entertainment is provided most weekday evenings and weekends. Kid meals are served on a souvenir Frisbee to enjoy. T-Shirts, hats and local artwork are also available for purchase. We are open late for dinner and offer a late night dining menu as well. It's fun for the whole family.
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just dropped in - great food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went to this place back from Bowman Beach, spottede it on the corner and decided to drop in with our two children.
Relaxed atmosphere, nice staff. The food was great and kids got there own menu served on a reversed frisbee. Funny - and the kids got to keep them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    606
    230
    72
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Mixed Results”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our birding tour at Ding Darling Refuge lasted longer than we expected and we were looking for the first available lunch venue. George and Wendy's was on a highly visible corner and won easily. Lucky us! We sat at one of four shady outdoor tables. Service was quick and pleasant; coffee was robust and delicious. Our orders were a grilled shrimp dinner ($12.00) and a chicken Caesar wrap ($10.00). The shrimp were plump, tailless, and grilled perfectly. They were served with saffron rice and seasoned vegetables. The thick wrap was a bit less good: it was on a supple spinach tortilla and was unwieldy, as wraps often are. The side of fries was hot and crispy and the chicken was tasty. Although the lettuce was crisp, it was also browning on the edges and the wrap might have been easier to handle if it had been shredded or at least in smaller chunks. The dressing was bland and tasted very little like Caesar dressing. Overall this dish was a disappointment in an otherwise nice visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 88Tropicsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average-tasting food at decent prices..”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our family of four dined here this evening for dinner. Two adults, a teeanger and an 11-year old. We read the reviews and decided it sounded very good. Very cute place with a laid-back, beachy feel, although it's not on the beach. No wait at 6:30 p.m. Seated quickly and our waitress was very attentive & efficient. The menu raves about the "Cape Cod New England clam chowder". It was a gray/greenish color with chunks of carrots in it. The owners must not have visited Cape Cod because you would never find gray clam chowder with carrots in it on Cape Cod. My daughter didn't like the taste of it and the waitress took it off our bill. The onion rings were fantastic, as was the mozzarella flatbread appetizer. I ordered the Chicken Piccatta which I thought was very average tasting. It was not a thin piece of chicken dredged in flour and then browned, but a thicker chicken breast with no coating...the Piccatta sauce was bland. It did have some capers, artichoke hearts, mushrooms and linguine that did add some flavor...but overall not very tasty. My son said his burger was very dry. We would come back again, but would just stick to basic appetizers. The prices were very reasonable compared to other restaurants on Sanibel & Captiva.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sherinongratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Drinks, Outstanding Service, On Sanibel its a Must Visit”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nothing to dislike. Entire staff wait on you hand and foot.
Its a must stop when coming to Sanibel. Say hi to George and tall the staff #29 the Softball Player told you to be here. One time will not be your last I promise

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrBill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining, reasonable prices”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Over the course of the month of March, dined at George and Wendy's several times. Seafood was excellent. Sunday brunch is very good. Have live entertainment most evenings. Excellent cocktails and beer selections. All very reasonably priced. For some reason, not as popular as many of the other restaurants on the island, but would highly recommend that you give George and Wendy's a chance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloCubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing