We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily one of the best on Sanibel Island”

George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easily one of the best on Sanibel Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have eaten at many restaurants on Sanibel over the years and this was easily in the top 5 ever. The food was outstanding and came out hot and fresh. They happily accommodated my son's request of a peanut butter and honey sandwich. The blackened grouper sandwich was wonderful, as was the roast beef on the "beef on weck" sandwich, which literally melted in your mouth. They have a great variety to choose from. The service was outstanding, our server was Tim. The toilet rooms were very cleaned and stocked. We WILL return to this place and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TEK34293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,061
    588
    224
    70
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Art Work!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had dinner here and enjoyed the art work that decorates this restaurant---it is all for sale and features very colorful fish and birds.
THe bread and olive oil/pesto/cheese was great as was the clam chowder. The pasta dishes we had were OK---mine was seafood and a garlic sauce. THe seafood could have been fresher. My husband had chicken parmagan and it was a hugh plate of food. THe waitress was quite friendly. The food just didn't stand out that much....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LPE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not sure how this place is rated #11”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife ordered the margherita flat bread. Dough was gooey and store bought, not crispy at all. My clam chowder was a bit too peppery. The grouper rueben was overpowered by the sour kraut. I've had similar sandwiches at other places and they use vile slaw instead. Finally, I had one of the beer specials and it was $8 for a pint! Are you kidding me? Overpriced food and drinks! Very disappointed...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hokie_ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a great family restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, lots of families with young children, we had bbq shrimp, steak and ck tenders for our little one, all excellent and Jerry our waiter was awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, accommodating, great food, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stopped in for lunch after a drive through the island. We had our small dog with us. They had great outdoor seating for us and our little buddy. Out server Francine was super friendly, provided great recommendations, had our food out fast and always kept the drinks full. Even offered a bowl of water for our puppy. Great food and great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FireF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing