We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great island feel. Good menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille

George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great island feel. Good menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The interior is just great fun. Dynamic wall hangings. But more importantly a menu with a wide variety of fish choices,salads and apps. The soup of the day was conch and as advertised was SPICEY as I like it. Happy hours and brunches

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    576
    220
    69
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great outdoor patio....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice people - everyone stopped to talk and ask us where we were from. Grouper burgers were amazing. good beers on tap, and all very reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
“"Absolutely Delicious."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lunch, Dinner and Late-night.
The only place I found on the Island open for The Late Night Appetite. Their Flatbreads, Baked Brie and Beer was so good I had to go back the next day for another attack.
Although my neighbors on the next table raved about their Prime Rib Special, the menu item that caught my eye was the Blackened Grouper Reuben. Absolutely Delicious.
I love traditional Reubens but this Sanibel Spin on a classic put me in a Foodie Trance. All the Flavors worked. And Finally someone who knows how to cook Sweet Potato Fries right. Cross-cut and Crispy then served with a Horse Radish Aioli. Done.
Fresh, clean and Friendly... Outside to In. The Big Art is fun and Carmen behind the bar had me laughing all night. Got to check it out, and don't forget to try the Fried Pickles.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably our favorite place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very good food, nice selection on menu and something for everyone. I loved the fish tacos. We continually came back here on our vacation. Its the only place we wanted to revisit in Sanibel or Captiva.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigan_I_Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, comfortable, friendly place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was a great find on Sanibel. Great service and friendly staff. Also had good Gluten free offerings. Ate their twice during our stay. Once in the bar and once in the main dining room. Portions were solid and very tasty. Also really good salad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susypoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing