We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE menu choices!”

George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: George & Wendy Schnapp both moved to Sanibel Island in 2002, George from Buffalo and Wendy from Chicagoland. They met on the island, fell in love and married in 2007. George has been in the restaurant business for over 30 years. Together they opened George & Wendy's Seafood Grille in 2011 to provide a place where locals and visitors could come and enjoy good food, drinks and entertainment. We are open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week offering an extensive menu sure to please any palate. The Chef and General Manager work together with their team to provide a welcoming dining experience for all. George and Wendy's Seafood Grille offers one of largest Hand-Crafted Cocktail menus on the islands, 20 beers on tap, an extensive wine list and a full liquor bar. Entertainment is provided most weekday evenings and weekends. Kid meals are served on a souvenir Frisbee to enjoy. T-Shirts, hats and local artwork are also available for purchase. We are open late for dinner and offer a late night dining menu as well. It's fun for the whole family.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“HUGE menu choices!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a really fun place to eat. The inside is adorable! We loved the appetizers, especially the Buffalo wings, and we're from Buffalo! My steak, unfortunately, was quite overdone, but they fixed it right away. Huge portions, and plenty of options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiddleEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    615
    231
    72
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Seafood options for Sanibel”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed our meals. Menu was varied and they offered specialized dishes. Was a bit on the pricier side but not out of line. Spacious dining area so you didn't feel crowded. Attentive wait staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank craigBjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Took our fish we caught out on the water to George and Wendy's and they fried, baked and broiled the fish and we got to pick sides to go with it. Very well prepared food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LKAAuburnHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service & Wings are great!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Looking for simple and reasonably priced food I went to George & Wendy's. I sat in the bar area to watch the football games and Marsha was an awesome server! She was friendly and showed this wasn't just a "job". I split an an order of medium wings and blackened shrimp tacos with a friend. The wings were great! They were saucy with a little crunch and not fatty...perfect. The shrimp tacos (3) were small but the flavor was good and the beans and rice on the side helped add to the taco. The price was reasonable for Sanibel prices. All in all it was a great meal and I would return for sure. Thanks again Marsha for great service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigred_rolltide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome Find on Sanibel”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Came in today to watch the football game and was pleasantly surprised. This is not an island tourist trap but rather a fun place where the locals and visitors all intermingled. I expected cheap food and got unbelievable wings and an amazing Grouper Reuben. They have a huge beer selection with some nice micros from Dogfish to Black Diamond. Great overall experience and a very reasonable price tag. The bar got really crowded so it took a minute to put my order in but that would be my only complaint. Cool overall ambience from plenty of tv's for sports to eclectic local art. I will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lacrosse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing