We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour is a great value.”
Review of Cip's Place

Cip's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cip's Place has lush landscaping and wonderful outdoor seating. Its beautifully decorated interior has a large wall mural painted by a local artist who has featured many of the faces of people from Sanibel history. Chef Blaine and his wife Alison are co-owners and come from a long history of food service. The food is great and the locals frequent Cip's and are enjoying it.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Happy hour is a great value.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We decided to get here in time for happy hour because they have bargain prices. We got the Cip's sloppy chips which were amazing, it is their wonderful fresh made chips topped with a cheese sauce, micro greens, and fresh jalapeño slices. We also had the barbecue shrimp, each were $5 and wonderful. We also ordered the clams, they were good, but we both said we would have preferred more of the shrimp.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachfunMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    445
    124
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nothing special about this place. Waitress was especially pleasant and attentive, and service was quick (very few customers that night), but nothing from what we ate really stood out. All was good but nothing particularly worth mentioning

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicosne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best barbecue ribs ever.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We tried Cip's Place on our friends recommendation who lives in the area. It turned out to be a great choice. We ordered the barbecue ribs and were not disappointed. Cooked to perfection with fall off the bone tenderness. The barbecue sauce was the best I have ever tasted. The location is perfect with beautiful well kept grounds. The staff made the experience even more enjoyable. Can't say enough good things about Cips. Did I mention we went back again two days later? We will return every time we visit beautiful Sanibel Island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derdoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in tropical garden”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant twice because my son (9 years) loved it that much. If possible ask for a table on the veranda in the back of the restaurant, which is overlooking the tropical garden. Spare some appetite for the desert, it's worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank schagglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great restaurant!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm very picky when it comes to restaurants and in addition, I'm a vegetarian who only eats fish while I'm in Florida. I had the Snapper Veracruzanda (sp?) and it was wonderful! HUGE piece of fish...couscous was blah...yummy black beans. Key lime pie was great! My husband and Dad had the Snapper Fish Tacos and they were good as well! We sat outside and it was a beautiful night! Service was good. All around it was a great Mother's Day dining experience! Highly recommend Cip's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess02M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cip's Place also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cip's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing