We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for a beach vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2006

We have stayed here a few times, and think it is great. Whether you choose an ocean view or a courtyard view, the condos are clean and nicely done by the owners. Each has its own screen porch, and fully equipped kitchen. The grounds are lovely, and everything you need is provided, from a cooler for the beach, to a sun umbrella, and chaise. You can rent bicycles on site, as well as video movies. (You do need to bring your own beach towels). There are two pools, the larger of which had a heater problem this last trip, so the water was nippy, but the smaller pool was lovely. There are even kayaks for your free use on the canals.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jaxon41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 791 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2006

The Sanibel Moorings Condo Resort was the perfect place for a little R&R plus we enjoyed walking the beach, using our rented bikes and kayaking the canals. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The condo was bigger than we expected and we loved the screened-in pouch. We had the "garden view" and was impressed with the nice array of plants. The pools were small, but that was ok because we prefer the beach. My husband and I were very pleased with the resort. We had a wonderful time, we highly recommend a stay at the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim01463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

Just spent 4 fantastic days at Sanibel Moorings in a 2 bed/2bath condo. We had # 542/ gulf view from the master bedroom. Nicely furnished and decorated. Everything was in working order. Bathroom in master bedroom was on the small side...I repeatedly hit my elbow on the toilet paper holder everytime I sat on the "john."That's my only complaint.Had outdoor balconies with furniture off the living room, and off the master bedroom, complete with towel rack to dry off beach towels and bathing suits.It's a family oriented place for the most part...although they do have adult only swimming hours set aside for guests. Free beach chaise chairs are available for use on the beach. Our unit actually had a beach umbrella for us to use in the closet. Linen is exchanged at the club house when you want to get fresh towels, etc., no housekeeping daily unless you request, and I assume pay extra for it. If you're cooking there, bring your own dishwashing detergent, and sponge. Bar soap is provided in the bathrooms. 1st roll of toilet paper is "on them", after that, you have to provide your own. Internet access was thru a dedicated phone line (dial-up) for our laptop. I hands up recommend this place. Minimum stay is 4 days. We paid $189/nite. Not too steep for being almost "beachfront."

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2006

We recently returned from our second visit to Sanibel Moorings, and will definitely go back in the future. The grounds are beautiful, the staff cheerful, very clean and well appointed condos, two great pools, heavenly beach. As close to perfect as you can get. This was the most relaxing vacation ever.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2005

6  Thank octoberwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Connecticut
118
Reviewed August 28, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pembroke Pines, Florida
220
Reviewed August 8, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#4 of 20 in Sanibel Island
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,012 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 20 in Sanibel Island
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings Resort

Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $205 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanibel Moorings Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing