We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family/fishing fun”
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Family/fishing fun”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived at our 2 BR/2B condo early on the 22d of February for a 1 week stay for ourselves and our daughter and her two kids. Great news awaited, the condo was all ready and they let us check in early, which was incredibly nice and convenient for us! The condo itself met all of our needs nicely (we may have decorated differently---fewer mirrors et.al., but that's being picky) and the facilities, activities and location were absolutely GREAT! As long ago residents of SW Florida, we were shocked at the overall growth and development, but The Moorings enabled us to be away from all of that and we felt as if we were in the Sanibel of old. The fishing was fun, if not too productive (caught a few interesting species), but that's not why we fish---it's all about being there for the sunrises and meeting other folks, who, by the way, were an eclectic group of super-nice people. All in all, it was wonderful in all respects and we will reurn to the Moorings, if and when the opportunity arises-----GREAT PLACE and GREAT STAFF!!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want--beach-pools--docks. There are condos close to each of these, but none are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Rick K,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort! We hope you'll come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    125
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
466
178
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armstrong Creek, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great stay, quiet, easy access to the beach, to shopping, etc. Staff super nice and very helpful. Will plan on staying again with family in the future. Will however remember to bring my own beach towels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreekerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear CreekerBoy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sanibel Moorings. We look forward to seeing you, and your family, again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I enjoyed this place but it is very expensive. The gardens are nice but very spread out. It may not extreme to some to pay 2 to 3 thousand dollars a week but I could rent a very nice hotel for that. To purchase is also cost prohibitive because of a 500.00 a month maintenance fee. I am sure they spend a lot on the upkeep it was clean and beautifully landscaped.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamperedPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear pamperedPennsylvania,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We hope you will come enjoy our Botanical Gardens again, the next time you are on Sanibel Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Feb 22-March 1 and we just love it! Our second visit here and I though nothing could top last year on the gulf side. Well it did! We stayed on the canal side and it was wonderful! Cozy, quiet, beautiful, immaculate and glorious grounds, great condo, friendly staff- need I say more? My only worry is it is too good and we won't be able to book a spot! My son wants to go to school near here and I would love to come back every year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Terrenski,

Thank you for sharing your experience, at Sanibel Moorings, with others! We're so thankful that you took the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort. Please come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We completed an eight days visit at The Moorings th e first week of February. Wow! What a treat that was. The one bedroom unit was perfect for the two of us. It was sparkling clean, the kitchen was well stocked with ample dishes, silverware and accessories. The grounds were very pretty and kept very clean. The beach was right outside our door and the weather cooperated for the entire time we were there. We so enjoyed our stay that before we left we booked two weeks for next January! Something to look forward to!!

Room Tip: There are no elevators on the two story buildings. If you cannot climb 11 steps, I suggest you reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jane B,

Thank you, very much, for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our resort! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you next January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A well appointed two bedroom condo, super clean, set in a botanical garden on the gulf seashore.
Super friendly and attentive staff. Owners and renters polite, civil and considerate; creating an oasis of peace and calm. Parked the car and cycled or walked everywhere for food, kayaking, nature and much more. A real gem.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a Gulf or canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and sharing your wonderful experience with others! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Sanibel Moorings and we hope you'll visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were here April of 2013 and found it to be our very best west coast trip ever. Unit was colorfully decorated and faced the gulf. The gardens are amazing, we never really needed the staff, but the few times we did interact it was a very pleasant experience. There is a full business center complete with meeting room and several computers with online access. Very quiet and un-toursity, a few minutes away from stores and restaurants. All in all my favorite on the west coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Dave H,

Thank you, so much, for taking the time to write a review of Sanibel Moorings. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again, in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
676 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Property: Sanibel Moorings
Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing