We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun”
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January, 1st floor, 1 bedroom/1 bath in a pet-friendly condo facing the beach. Each morning we walked the pups leashed on the beach and sat on the beach in the early afternoon with them too. The condo was stock with many kitchen and bath supplies. During check in Grace was very helpful and knowledgeable about what the condo offered, the grounds and restaurants to catch a great sunset. The grounds of the condos were beautiful. We all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Suz R,
We are so grateful for your review here on trip advisor and your time in sharing it with others.
Hopefully, next visit, you can stay longer and enjoy all of our amenities we have to offer.
Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    121
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
448
178
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The grounds are beautiful, the condos are very nice, and the office is very helpful. A great place to spend your vacation. The two pools are never crowded, and they are heated to a comfortable temperature even in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Ringerdog,
Sounds as if you had a great vacation here on Sanibel and a delightful stay here in our beautiful resort. Next time you come, please be our guest and take a scenic tour through our tropical botanical gardens. You are able to tour yourself with a brochure guiding your way or tour with our gardener, Anita, so you don't miss a thing. So glad you took advantage of our pools and don't forget to take our kayaks out for a relaxing ride through our canals or play a game of tennis on our private courts. We also have bicycles here on the grounds that you may rent for as long as you choose to. So please come back soon and enjoy your next visit too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savanna, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family stayed here for 8 nights over Christmas break in a 2nd floor 2-bedroom/2-bath condo facing the canal. It was so nice to sit out on the screened in porch overlooking the canal and drink your coffee, eat your meals, read a book, or just relax and watch the birds swoop down in the water to get their own meal. The unit was clean and had been updated fairly recently, it looked like. The king bed in our room was comfortable, although a little soft for my husband's taste. (But we have a sleep number bed at home, so it's always hard to fairly compare beds when traveling.)

This resort has two heated outdoor pools, which we utilized from time-to-time, but what was really nice was just walking directly from the property across the short boardwalk and immediately being on the beach. I also loved that the resort provided plenty of chairs to use on the beach free of charge ... there was only one time we didn't have a chair immediately, but it wasn't too long before one became available.

We took advantage of the use of their kayakes and canoe in the canal one morning for two hours, along with the onsite tennis court. Some in our party also rented the bicycles for a small fee for the day, and they really enjoyed riding around the island and exploring.

We were traveling with another family, and we took turns (most nights) preparing our evening meals and hosting at each other's condos for dinner and games, which was very nice and much more cost-efficient for 9 people. We also ate a few meals out, but for the most part, we stuck pretty close to Sanibel Moorings.

It was just a lovely vacation for all of us, and I definitely can see us coming back again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lori M,
We are very grateful you took the time to let others know about us, thank you.
You'll never know how much your lovely review of our resort means to us all. All of us on the
staff take a lot pride in making sure your stay is as memorable as it can be. We are here to make your stay as comfortable as we can, so please don't hesitate in letting us know of any needs you may have. We will do our best to try to make it just the way you want it. Our office is open each and every day for anything you may need.
Sounds as it you had a great time and hopefully you had a chance to walk through our gorgeous botanical gardens. If not, there's always next time. Please let us know when you can return.
We will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights, in a 2 bedroom 2 bath Dock side unit. The unit was excellent, clean, roomy and quiet, the resort pool was excellent, well maintained and beach was also very close by. We plan to return.

Room Tip: rooms on he Dock side would be quieter then the ones by the beach entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Brian H,
Oh my, yes, please come back and see us again and thank you for sharing on trip advisor so others can hear of our beautiful resort. We are so grateful for your review. Sounds as if you had a great time, and maybe next time you come, you can take advantage of more amenities we have to offer. The tennis courts are conveniently located, the kayaks are ready to go and the gardens are just begging you to tour them. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family just completed our 7th trip to Sanibel, and our first stay at Sanibel Moorings. We now have a place to call our favorite, and will definitely book here for all subsequent trips.

Sanibel Moorings is unique on Sanibel with its beautifully maintained gardens. Simply beautiful.

It usually takes me several days to acclimate, and feel comfortable with my surroundings. Not so at Sanibel Moorings~I instantly felt comfortable, relaxed and serene.

The location enables visitors to enjoy the Gulf side and all that has to offer while also presenting the canal side of the Island. On the canal, one can fish, kayak, canoe and relax on the dock. My children were thrilled to kayak alongside a dolphin.

The staff is incredible. Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. It is reassuring to have staff on site to handle any concerns, answer any questions or simply to take care of business. The facility is run very efficiently. Guests may exchange linens daily with the exception of Sunday. We were certainly provided with adequate supplies to begin our week long stay. The condo itself was furnished with anything you would need, from a juicer to a crockpot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thereyaare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Thereyaare,
How wonderful a review!
They just don't get any better than this.
You are so nice to share with others and your words mean so much to everyone here. Our staff is the best around and our main goal is to bring you back again and again. It is a labor of love for sure and it is lovely to know we are appreciated. Yes, our Botanical Gardens are beautiful. Hopefully, you had the chance to tour the gardens with our Anita, our gardener extradinair.
We will be looking for you down the road to take that kayak trip with the dolphins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I took our family of 5 for a week over New Years. We had condo by the canal. Very quiet and cleaner than I expected for the canal. Staff was very helpful and plenty to do for my teenagers. Beach, tennis, Kayaks, bike rental very inexpensive. We loved it. We will come here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Oncotron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Oncotron1,
Thank you for sharing your experience here at Sanibel Moorings with others, we appreciate your kind words. Sounds as if you were able to take advantage of all we have to offer. Maybe next time you come, you and your family can tour our Botanical Gardens. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I highly recommend Sanibel Moorings for a vacation home away from home. The grounds are gorgeous, the beach a very short walk away, and the cleanliness and privacy are perfect.
The grounds are exceptional, a gardener's delight everywhere you look. There are signs to help you know what you're admiring, and there's even a weekly tour! We look forward to coming back and absolutely recommend the Moorings on Sanibel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are best to catch the sunrise, and ground floor is better for those of us wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for being our guest and for taking the time to review Sanibel Moorings here on TripAdvisor. It sure sounds like you had a wonderful time and were very busy taking advantage of all we have to offer; including our relaxing atmosphere and our gorgeous botanical gardens. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Property: Sanibel Moorings
Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing