We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful home base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I highly recommend Sanibel Moorings for a vacation home away from home. The grounds are gorgeous, the beach a very short walk away, and the cleanliness and privacy are perfect.
The grounds are exceptional, a gardener's delight everywhere you look. There are signs to help you know what you're admiring, and there's even a weekly tour! We look forward to coming back and absolutely recommend the Moorings on Sanibel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are best to catch the sunrise, and ground floor is better for those of us wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you so much for being our guest and for taking the time to review Sanibel Moorings here on TripAdvisor. It sure sounds like you had a wonderful time and were very busy taking advantage of all we have to offer; including our relaxing atmosphere and our gorgeous botanical gardens. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 791 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed at The Moorings multiple times over the years and it never disappoints us. I always thought the staff in the office were excellent. I recommend this resort to anyone going to Sanibel ( especially for the first time).

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank BETSRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear BETSRN,
We appreciate you taking the time to give our resort a review. Our main goal here is to bring you back time and time again, so we hope you come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went to Sanibel for a long weekend and Sanibel Moorings is one of the few condo properties that rents condos for less than a week. The gardens were as beautiful as described. We enjoyed a self tour of the gardens and everything is labeled by name. The staff couldn't be friendlier. The 2 bedroom condo was clean and very comfortable. I love going to Sanibel and shelling. This time we saw more than normal living shells. That was a real treat. My only problem with Sanibel is the no-seeums. I had purchased in advance "Noooo No see um spray" and those of us that remembered to use it had no problems, those that forgot got many many bites. The bites are very itchy and don't go away for about a week. Make sure to apply the spray day and night the noseeums bite all the time!!!!

Room Tip: I prefer first floor, we were with my 90 year old mom and steps would have been to much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear travelings 149
Thank you so much for sharing your experience here with others and we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in our beautiful resort. It sounds as if you took advantage of all we have to offer including our amazing botanical gardens. Yes, I am sorry to say we do have our little pesty "no see ums", but on your next stay, please stop by our gift shop and
get your spray ahead of time so you can be prepared. Please don't hesitate in giving us a jingle to see what we have available for your next visit, so hopefully we'll hear from you real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our family truly enjoyed staying at Sanibel Moorings over the Thanksgiving week. The staff was helpful and friendly, explaining to us all the amenities and accommodations. The condo was very clean, spacious, well-furnished, and had a terrific view of the beach. Great location - we loved biking the island of Sanibel and visiting the quaint downtown. The Island Cow restaurant was excellent - great service, delicious food, fun activities for kids out back, and heaters outside where we enjoyed our meal. The Moorings has a gas BBQ grills, foot washes, quiet shelling beach, beach chairs and umbrellas, and beautiful botanical gardens. We will book here again! Great for families!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seashellsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Seashellsfamily,
What a lovely review of our beautiful resort. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others and we are so happy you and your family enjoyed your vacation here at Sanibel Moorings.
Our staff is at your service and our main goal is to help you create a memorable vacation that brings you back again and again. We hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wonderful quiet place to stay. Although the units do not necessarily face the coast, it's only a short walk to the beach through the beautiful gardens of the property. (The gardens are worth a wander in themselves). The beach is lovely for sitting and relaxing or for long walks on the white sand. The staff at Sanibel Moorings are very helpful and accommodating. You can borrow a canoe or kayak and explore some of the near by canals. And you can rent a bicycle directly from Sanibel Moorings and make use of the amazing bike paths that traverse the Island! There is no restaurant on site so you'll need to bring groceries or drive off site for meals. We enjoyed the screened porch and sat out on many evenings enjoying the sound of the waves. Definitely highly recommend Sanibel Moorings and Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your vacation with us and thank you so much for sharing your experience with others.Sounds like you had a wonderful time taking advantage of all we have to offer, including our beautiful botanical gardens. We hope you'll return and perhaps on your next visit, you will consider our gulf front accommodations.Please come back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was truly a fantastic find . We booked via booking.com and have been amazed by the beautiful accommodation , location and scenery. The complex is set within a botanical garden , beautifully kept and very interesting to view. There are many excellent facilities , such as a pool , beach chairs and umbrellas and BBQs in the garden. A laundry is also available with lots of machines. The accommodation itself is comfortable with very large beds , great bathroom and a very adequate full kitchen. There are a lot of restaurants to try , but also after a long day on the beach to BBQ and make a salad is perfect. The wildlife is abundant on the island with magnificent bird life , dolphins and manatees . This is perfect for a laid back or busy holiday either way . The beach is also beautiful and about 30 seconds walk from the gulf side apartments

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AnneA336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your vacation with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share this with others. Our reward is to see you come back again. Please come soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Sanibel Moorings. The two bedroom unit we had (542) was perfect for our family of four. The seaside/tropical themed decoration was lovely and although it advertised as a partial sea view from one balcony the view was lovely.
The front room staff were very friendly and helpful and having a late checkout was not a problem.
We borrowed a canoe one day to explore the canals and I can highly recommend doing this - the dolphins swimming around the canoe were a highlight!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are so pleased your stay with us was memorable. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#4 of 20 in Sanibel Island
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,017 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 20 in Sanibel Island
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings Resort

Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $205 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Moorings Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing