We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing pleasant getaway”
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Relaxing pleasant getaway”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Although we live 40 minutes away my husband and I chose Sanibel to get away for the weekend. This is a quiet, relaxing pleasant escape. The office staff were friendly and helpful. The condo we rented was beautifully decorated, equipped with everything we could need and impeccably clean. The bed was comfortable, which isn't always a given. We rented 1441 on the dockside. The pool is right there and convenient, as are grills. The beach is across the street and chairs and umbrellas are available for guest use. There are many units available at the beach side, but we like the quiet dockside. The gardens are beautiful!! Only downside we found is that towels can be exchanged everyday but Sunday, which is our second day here. Would have preferred more towels. In season it is probably louder and busier. Sanibel and Captiva are fun to explore with all the shopping one could hope for and so many restaurants to chose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabulousTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    121
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
445
178
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I highly recommend Sanibel Moorings. The grounds and buildings are beautiful. The ocean is out the front and a picturesque canal at the rear. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Bike path for the island goes right by the entrance. Beach is very deep-you can wade out into the water a very long distance. The 1 bedroom condo was nicely decorated and clean. We enjoyed watching a late afternoon storm pass through from the screened porch. I loved the landscaping of the grounds. I spent one afternoon walking around the grounds taking photos of the flowers and plants. We stayed four nights in May for a birthday celebration and it was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at Sanibel Moorings 5/3/13 for 3 nights and absolutely loved everything. Only wish we could have stayed longer. The employees in the office were all super nice and accomodating.

The condo was a 2BR/2BA in a perfect location. The condo was clean and provided everything we were looking for. We brought some extra items for the kitchen based on previous travelers comments, but then found that some of what we bought, was already provided (coffee, dishwash soap etc). Check with the office staff, and verify what they supply.

The grounds are so beautiful and well maintained. Our unit was very close to the beach, but also wandered over to where the canal and docks are located, and that area is very nice as well. Really cannot go wrong.

We walked the property to see if we could find a section where we would really not prefer to stay, but I must say that we found none.

We are not big shellers, but one cannot help themself and pick up some beautiful shells since there is such a large variety. It was so relaxing to walk the beach in the morning, and evening. I saw dolphins very close to shore every day.

The only suggestion I have would be to consider charging less for the rental of the bicycles. We researched and found that there are other units that offer them complimentary to their guests. However, we did thoroughly enjoyed our bike ride.

Will definetely return next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It now has been 8 years of vacations @Sanibel Moorings! Of all the vacation spots, both my husband & I have never had a better vacation then at Moorings. The staff, grounds, condos, grill area, pools, canal & the access to the beach=all amazing. There is nothing more incredible then walking toward the beach and seeing the view with the 2 palm trees right before your feet hit the sand !!

We just spent 2 weeks this May there, a little 10year anniversary celebration and WOW, never ceases to amaze us how the relaxation begins when we get to Sanibel Moorings !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaabbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvidTraveler57
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

So many people have talked about visiting Sanibel Island, we decided in our 3 week stay in Florida to spend a week here. Did not know where to stay and used Tripadvisor's recommendations to stay here.

Booked a 2 bedroom unit for May 12-19, 2013 near the dockside. It is a short walk to the beach and our unit was on the second floor, unit 1512. Plenty of room in the unit, the kitchen had been remodeled, nicely updated bathrooms, one bedroom had 2 twin murphy beds, and the other a king bed.

When we checked in, several other people mentioned they had been coming to Sanibel Moorings for years on end with their family.

You can exchange your towels for clean ones, daily at the front side lobby in the morning. We appreciated this. Beach towels are not available in your unit, but you can rent them for the week. Luckily, I had brought along 4 beach towels from home.

They had canoes and kayaks for use, beach chairs and umbrellas available also for your use on the beach. In your bill, you will notice a $40 per week amenity fee--so while you can use the chairs/umbrellas/canoes/wi-fi/towel exchange--you really have paid for the use of these items.

Was up and out shelling daily which I loved loved loved!!! My husband got bit up with about 25 bites on his legs, I did not. Wierd.

They focus on their pretty botanical gardens which offers a free tour for those staying on the property early in the week. I saw a black snake quicky skirt into the shrubbery near the front steps to the lobby. I avoided walking near the area the whole week.

Felt like we went back in time on this island--no major chain restaurants, a quiet, relaxing area. There are many large, expensive homes located here.

The sand was such a beautiful white and felt like soft flour. Met many friendly people. Just lovely!!!!

Definitely plan to return again in the future to Sanibel, Florida.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Condo was clean, updated, well supplied kitchen, great living room t-v. Staff and office very pleasant and accomodating.
The grills and picnic area are a great addition. WE appreciated being able to rinse our dog off with hose, etc.





  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKOKIE
Level Contributor
226 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been staying at Sanibel Moorings for many years, and as much as I hate to say it, the individual units have deteriorated. Last year we stayed in a one-bedroom unit. The carpet was spotted and there were other cleanliness issues. This year we rented a two-bedroom unit. We were assured that the owners kept it updated and in top shape. However, the carpeting throughout the unit was filthy, and not only needed cleaning, but total replacement. And, being it was a 2-bedroom, 2 bath unit, there was no BATHTUB! Holy smokes ~ doesn't every home have at least one tub? The botanicals on this property are unparalleled. They give walking tours of the grounds. We witnessed a most magical wedding held right on the Gulf. Plus, it's a little pricier than the surrounding developments......going to try another condo next February!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUSAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Property: Sanibel Moorings
Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing