We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were very impressed by the Moorings. Comfortable appt, you can book servicing if you wish. Towel swap daily, our condo was well equipped & spacious. Good facilities & plenty of beach chairs & umbrellas.Excellent location, right on the beach, do book a sea view if you can,it's magical.We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateCTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    106
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
374
140
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My family has stayed at Sanibel Moorings multiple times in the last fifteen years, most recently in November 2012. It has a gorgeous location right on the beach, well-tended grounds, great pools, and the units are always super clean. Very welcoming for families. Our only complaint is that while the buildings are pretty soundproofed for voices and tv noise, you can hear water running (flushing toilets, showers, etc.) in neighboring units. We bring earplugs for sleeping. Even so, we would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Momoftwo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This complex is right on the beach, our condominium was fantastic with microwave,dishwasher,blenders, etc etc. the staff here are very inviting and helpful we arrived early but they allowed us to check in as our room was ready also as our flight home was an evening flight we asked if we could check out later this again was no problem. we chose a condominium because we did not want to be disturbed by maids etc wanting to service rooms plus we liked the idea of being able to rest at the end of a busy day on a sofa instead of sitting on a bed to watch tv, this was truly a fantastic holiday and would return in a heartbeat

Room Tip: If you have the budget secure a beach view room although some of the garden views are also very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has very nice grounds. It is located right on the beach and has plush grounds with a huge variety of plants. They even have a little tour weekly to show it off. Very nice. The beach is gorgeous. Our unit was a little dated but just fine. Comfortable beds and a funky towel program where you bring your towels to an office for exchange. No big deal.
I would go here again as it offers good value for the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First off, we had a fantastic time here and loved it. I would come back in a heartbeat. We even extended our stay. But be aware, it's a condo, not a hotel. So, they don't make the beds or clean the rooms, etc. You can change your towels if you bring them to the office. If you want amenities, maybe choose a resort or hotel. Also be aware, Sanibel is pretty quiet and tranquil. If you want nightlife, choose another destination.

For us, it was perfect. It was like having a home away from home. 2 minutes walk to the beach - and it's a short drive to anywhere on the island. No restaurant in walking distance, but 5 minutes drive to several and a grocery store. The grounds are gorgeous, with tropical trees and plants. The room was clean, quiet, and air conditioned. We went to the beach every day and collected shells, swam, walked, and relaxed. Fantastic trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raph105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sanibel Moorings for two weeks in October 2012.  This was a very special holiday for us, as we were very stressed following two family bereavements.  The Moorings did not disappoint.  The setting for these condos is glorious.  The gardens are a delight -  beautifully designed and maintained, with all the specimens of trees and plants identified and labelled.  You can even do a botanical tour.  All the facilities were well run and explained, without the need for dozens of warnings and signs everywhere (which is the tendency in the UK). Our condo was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped.  You have to pay a lot more for a gulf view, but as we were on the beach every day, this was not a priority for us and we were quite content with our private, courtyard-view condo.  The staff in the office were very attentive to our needs.  We rented cycles used the laundry and made good use of the beach furniture. Sanibel Moorings is a very calm and tranquil base for a holiday.  We were there out of season, so maybe it can be busy and noisier at other times. But it is designed in such a way that you can be private and solitary if that is what you want.  We did not use the pools; preferring to swim in the sea and watch the birds, but they are clearly a very attractive amenity for families. The dockside condos were also very pleasant and kayaks were available for rent. There are several outdoor grills and Timbers fish market has an impressive range of fresh fish to cook on them. Sanibel is a magical place and we shall treasure our memories of a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juderay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was our first trip to Sanibel. This is a very nice place to visit. Although it was still very warm and many places we're closed, we had a good time. Sanibel Moorings is a very nice place. Very clean and well maintained. Our unit 1021, a 2 bed/bath unit had only one hair dryer attachéd to the wall in the guest bath. There was only one tub mat and they were needed as the tubs were very slippery. This was not too much of an issue since it was just the two of us, but would be if there were four people. The kitchen is very well supplied, buteverything is old. Coffee pot and toaster old enough to be a safety hazard. Frig is very noisy. Central air is also very loud. Master bed comfortable, furniture was in good shape but dated. Too good not to be better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Property: Sanibel Moorings
Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing