We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top resort and beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top resort and beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

It has never disappointed us over the years as we have returned sometimes with the entire family of five or with friends or just three of us as on this trip. No matter which unit we stayed in there were always positive aspects. I'm not going to repeat some of the excellent descriptions that others have given which would be redundant. We started coming to Sanibel Moorings 27 years ago when my son was born.
Currently, I am overlooking the ocean from my second floor screened in balcony. The grounds and flowers are all kept up immaculately. It feels like a tropical paradise with hibiscus flowers and palm trees. After traveling to many foreign islands it is always a pleasure to have this special island in the U.S.A. with all of the amenities of home.
Our two bedroom unit has three televisions, a dvd player and a vcr. We called about a problem with one of the t.v.'s and 10 minutes later, an engineer came to repair it. Great service and efficiency. The decor is fresh and updated. Over the years Sanibel Moorings has made a continuous effort to update and maintain the entire property including individual units. The two bathrooms are newly remodeled and large.
Nothing can beat this wonderful beach steps from door. It stretches for miles and you can walk, shell or enjoy the scenery. There are no extra charges for things here as you find at many resorts.
I would have preferred a larger pool but I can forgo that with all the other things there are to offer.
Note: You need to provide your own beach towels or you can rent them in the office. You do need to set up your own beach chairs and umbrellas but they are provided free of charge. You need to exchange your towels daily for fresh ones.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are noisy. Rooms near the ocean are more expensive. You need to cross the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orchidnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    118
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
423
168
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

There was a different feel about staying on the far eastern part of Sanibel Island. Rather than being in the middle of the activity and crowded sections of the beach, we stayed at the Sanibel Moorings which is west of the lighthouse at the eastern tip of the island. While I'm confident there are other condos that are more luxurious, I have to say that the grounds are immaculate and supersede any that I saw along my walks of the beach. The unit we stayed in was clean and had all the amenities we needed to stay for a week, cook in, and enjoy the screened in patio with a view of the beach. The 'resort' provides umbrellas and plastic lounge chairs for beach use (some of the chairs were broken). Laundry services, towel exchange, garden tour, shell info workshop, bike rentals and more are available. The swimming pool is smaller than other resorts, but my in-laws reported that the water temperature was absolutely perfect and it wasn't over chlorinated. There were a lot of children at the pool every day, however they did offer an 'Adult Hour' from 11-12 and 3-4 and the children promptly left for those periods of time. Be aware that Sanibel Moorings is split - units on the south side of the road are approximately 100 yards from the beach and units on the north side of the road which have canal views and boat dock access. The buildings are groups of 4 units (2 stories high) offering more privacy and less noise because of few shared walls. Being on the eastern part of the island meant we were 15-30 minutes closer to Ft. Myers when we headed in for Spring Training Games. If you plan to leave the island often I would highly recommend staying on the eastern part, closer to the bridge. Sanibel Moorings is a great option for someone who really wants to enjoy a lush setting, have a relaxing experience, and feel like you live there.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor unit for a little relief from the noise of people walking by during the day. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 196rndthewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Moorings is by no means a luxury resort, but it is the perfect combination of a peaceful, tranquil environment and comfortable, casual and relaxed atmosphere. The condos are all well-appointed, clean and up-to-date, while the grounds are stunning. I grew up coming here with my family for spring break, I got engaged here, and my wife and I come down about once a year to relax, rejuvenate and grill up the freshest fish in florida from the Timbers Market.

Room Tip: Condo 331 is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarkinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Last minute arrangement pick as already highly rated by T A. Could not have been better. The lush grounds and proximity to beach make one feel they are at an exclusive resort along with many amenities and great service. We plan on going back in February.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank duke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Sanibel Moorings is a little bit of paradise and a perfect place to relax without any of the typical resort hype! We have been going there for about ten years, and each year the plusses have far outweighed any negative aspects. Everyone has access to two pools (one quite small, the other larger, noisier, and filled with kids visiting grandparents). The canal-side offers quiet places to fish from piers, and kayaks and canoes to use free of charge. The beach side offers chairs and umbrellas, and miles of fabulous, natural, shell-filled beaches that never seem the least bit crowded.

The staff is very helpful, and if you need something for the kitchen, they will provide it. The condos we have stayed in have been fairly well maintained, albeit with some too heavy and dark furniture clearly brought down from Northern homes. The one-bedrooms are quite small, but the two bedrooms are more than ample with two baths. The screen porches make a wonderful place for reading and dining outdoors.

The only minuses are the small size of the second pool, the time-limited two hours per day of adult only swimming (a problem during kids' school vacation weeks), the noisy trash trucks every day, and the high costs of the rentals and the whole island in general. (Buy your groceries before crossing the bridge to Sanibel Island).

A big plus is that many people have been going back to Sanibel Moorings for many years, so you are certain to meet some very nice people who can become lifelong friends if you return annually. Perfect for a single adult looking for someone to talk with around the pool, or for a family with kids. And the come-as-you-are atmosphere eliminates any need to dress up or to be anything other than yourself. How refreshing is that?!

Room Tip: With kids, you'll probably want to stay on the first floor. Older adults may also want first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suzzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Our unit was very well maintained and recently decorated. Heated pool was great for the kids. Staff were very helpful in recommending dinner places and other activities. Overall a very relaxing place

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelwinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Sanibel Moorings. Our 2 bedroom condo was clean and newly renovated. The beach is beautiful. Can't beat the warm, calm Sanibel water :) Pool area was also very nice and the gardens were lovely. We won't say anywhere else on Sanibel. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ageyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Property: Sanibel Moorings
Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing