We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks”
Review of Chip's Sanibel Steakhouse - CLOSED

Chip's Sanibel Steakhouse
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Causeway & Periwinkle Way
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The building is a bit worn, especially the AC....take a sweater. That noted the food and service are very good and prices reasonable. I had the prime rib and found it excellent ....others had steaks and all were excellent. Service is excellent and I would come back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fdl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    74
    35
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
QDL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our last meal in USA before returning to UK and it was delicious. We went for the fillet served medium with baked potato and fresh vegetables, simple and very tasty, just what we felt like eating after a couple of weeks of fancy food.
Service was excellent but we were seated in the back dining area all on our own which felt rather lonely!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnoopyQdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This place is amazing. We went there for me and the misses 1st year anniversary.. We had no babysitter:-(.. But we went anyway and the waitress did her best to accommodate us with our daughter.. We ordered the escargot to start. It was different than I'm use to(cheese in mushrooms) but very good..By that time my daughter was Ms cranky pants and the place was getting packed and we didn't wanna cause a ruckus so we took our meals to go(the waitress offered us the back room, but we declined) We live down the street but we put our daughter down to bed and 20 min later sat at our table and ate. WOW!! So good.. My steak was amazing. My wife agreed. We moved from the east coast of florida(boca Raton) to sanibel. This place puts NY Prime and Abe and Louie's to shame. 2nd to Peter Lugers(Brooklyn not Long Island )..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crawfish00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
“questionable experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Four of us had dinner last night. Our waitress was very crude. One of us ordered a ribeye steak Pittsburgh style and a baked potato. The steak was grey in color, the potato cold, Pittsburgh style is suppose to be somewhat charred but still rare. The steak was taken back to the kitchen and charred but the same potato was brought back to the table and still cold. At the end of the meal, three of us had at least half of our steaks and prime rib left. We asked for the reminders to be boxed. The waitress stood at our table and speared the meats that were on our plates, reaching across one person and going across diagonally to spear another person's meat with a knife and put the reminders on one plate. She then took the plates away and returned with one box with all of the meats in one box. In addition to this there was a young child crying throughout dinner and then was allowed to walk around the restaurant. This was between 7:30 and 9:30.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classy island dinner”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

For those who seek a "steakhouse" experience commensurate with the urban, well-known trademarks, this is the place for you on Sanibel Island. We started with refreshing specialty drinks and then moved to oysters for one and scrumptious lobster bisque for the other diner. Always leary of wasting food and finding "doggie bags" a bit of a nuisance while on vacation, we opted to share a large ribeye. Modest charge to share an entree and then both diners get their own portion of accompanying house veggies and either delicious garlic mashed or baked potato. Steak was prepared perfectly at medium rare and sliced off the bone for us by the chef. Waiter could not have been more pleasant - friendly, helpful with suggestions, attentive but not intrusive. Pay this spot a visit - soon!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank j3tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chip's Sanibel Steakhouse also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing