We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and breakfast review”
Review of Sea Star Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

Sea Star Cafe & Bar
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the Sanibel Inn & Resort, this casual American theme restaurant is a wonderful addition to Sanibel Island. We are family friendly and serve breakfast, lunch and dinner in a beautifully appointed setting. Additionally we are open to the public from 8am - 10pm 7 days a week so all of our local friends, as well as our out of town visitors can enjoy a great meal at prices that will amaze you.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dinner and breakfast review”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Interesting architecture. Restaurant is part of Sanibel Inn, which is right on the gulf, but the restaurant has no view at all. Dinner was good and staff was good. Breakfast was average and service was average. Crab soup was very good! Waiter at breakfast didn't write anything down and it showed! Prices for both were high for the quality and quantity of food. If you're staying at Sanibel Inn, it's convenient and good enough. If you're not, there are better places to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FItraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    62
    36
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ate here one morning for breakfast while staying at the Sanibel Inn. Menu was small but adequate for breakfast items. Service staff were extremely attentive, refilling coffee without being asked. Wasn't crowded but had a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarzit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I went with some friends for dinner here. It definitely has an interesting atmosphere. It is very 70s and kind of funky. There was not a lot of staff present but we were the only patrons there for a while. The young man who did greet and seat was very nice. My grouper sandwich was good but was overpriced. I ordered a side salad in lieu of the fries that came with it. Though I ordered a house salad, I got a Cesar salad with a soggy piece of parmesan and stale piece of melba toast. Everyone who got the $21 steak said it tasted good. I split a piece of cheesecake with another person and got a small piece of paper in the first bite. All in all, maybe this isn't the best place for dinner. Because we are staying onsite at the inn, we might give it another shot for lunch. From the other reviews read, it seems this place can be "hit or miss".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBJ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
321 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

In one word, SUCKS! Waited over a half hour for the breakfast that consisted of pancakes an omelette and a bagel. The waitstaff was as useful as a box of doorknobs. Three other parties arrived after us and got there food before us. When the food finally arrived the pancakes were burnt on one side, and placed burnt side down as if we wouldn't notice. Asked for a grilled bagel came out toasted. The omelette was requested without peppers and finally arrived with peppers included. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. There are many wonderful places for breakfast on Sanibel this is not one of them!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaguar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My mom and I ate here every breakfast and dinner with our "summer escape" Orbitz money. The food was good and the staff was very friendly. I would not have known the restruant was here unless directed to it. The breakfast was good for the money; pancakes, waffles, French toast, eggs and bacon. Dinner was very good, lots of chicken, shrimp, pasta and steak dinners. The crab bisque was VERY good and recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rcstarks90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Star Cafe & Bar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing