We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.”

Traditions on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located inside the Historic Island Inn on West Gulf Drive, Traditions restaurant, bar & lounge offers "Contemporary Cuisine - Sanibel Style." Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, we invite you to join us for spectacular sunsets with nightly live entertainment and dancing.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went to this place mostly because it was close to our hotel and we were able to make a last minute reservation. The service was rather slow despite the fact that it didn't seem all that crowded. However, our waiter was apologetic. I got the salmon and it was okay, not great. Boyfriend got the fennel sausage pasta dish and loved it. I did taste the sausage and would say that it was pretty damn tasty. They had really cheesy live (a-la-casio keyboard) music playing, which was not my thing but people seemed to be enjoying it. Overall, I would say skip it--there are way better places to eat on the island, such as Sweet Melissa's, The Sandbar, and Normandie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sonyanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I apologize that your visit to our restaurant did not meet your standards.
We pride ourselves on training our wait staff to serve you with highest quality service and we apologize for the slow service you received. We train our staff not to rush our guests but we will remind them to provide timely service.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. Our cuisine is prepared with the finest and freshest local ingredients and is cooked by our highly skilled chef and his team. We strive for excellence in our cuisine. If our food is ever to your dissatisfaction please alert the wait staff at once so we can take care of you.
Traditions on the Beach is one of the few restaurants on Sanibel that has live entertainment nightly and it is a big hit with our customers. All of our performers are professional with many years of experience and they each bring something different to their performances. We are sorry you did not enjoy the show but understand that everyone has different tastes in music.
Again, we would like to apologize and we hope that you will give Traditions on the Beach another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 425 of 707 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

A great meal with great service. Will return soon and often. The piano was wonderful with Jersey Mike at the keyboard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 185danas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed their meal and Jersey Mike. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Traditions provides a classic Sanibel experience. Staff and food is truly first class - supper club ambiance. Music is great. This will become one of my Sanibel favorites.

1  Thank RSJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing Traditions on the Beach for dinner and for leaving a wonderful review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed their meal and the entertainment. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This time, tried the veal chop and the filet mignon, after eating fish for a week. Super! Nice selection of red wines to complement.

Food lovers on Sanibel should not miss Traditions, Sweet Melissa's, and the Mad Hatter. But which to go to first?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank capitanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad you enjoyed your meal. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Service was enthusiastic and professional. Ended up chatting with our waiter a little too long! The food was surprisingly good - we ate there twice in our 4 night stay and should have eaten there more!

1  Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. We pride ourselves in our wait staff and love to hear that they are doing a wonderful job. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditions on the Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Traditions on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing