We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the kind of place we normally eat at.....”

Traditions on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Soups, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located inside the Historic Island Inn on West Gulf Drive, Traditions restaurant, bar & lounge offers "Contemporary Cuisine - Sanibel Style." Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, we invite you to join us for spectacular sunsets with nightly live entertainment and dancing.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not the kind of place we normally eat at.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

the food was a little "fancy" for my husband, he is a meat and potatoes kind of guy. However it was part of a package that we had. We were a large group, the food was served warm and it was good. The service was excellent. The experience was an enjoyable one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your group enjoyed their meal. We pride ourselves on training our wait staff to serve you with highest quality service and are pleased to hear they are doing a good job. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    142
    65
    34
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place was packed. No problem as we had reservations. Everything looked nice… there was a band too. However, the Thanksgiving dinner was really overpriced for what you got. There were other restaurants in town that were less costly for dinner. Also, the service was terrible…. of course when they already put the tip on automatically, why does the server care how he does? We asked for butter… it never came… our drinks were never filled. … dessert wasn't included in the overpriced meal (the turkey seemed like it came from a pressed turkey log you buy from the frozen section of the grocery store, you know what I mean). It took over an hour to get our dessert. The person next to us was complaining to his wife (although I think about something else regarding his experience). The dessert was terrible, the ice cream arrived melted on the plate… We were totally disappointed.
Earlier in the day we ate at the Island Cow and saw someone getting their Tgiving meal there… it was $15 cheaper AND looked better. Bad choice on our part choosing Traditions.
We didn't eat there for anything else other than used the same dining room for the free breakfast. I really wanted our meal to be a good experience given it was a holiday but we came home Friday night and Sunday I made us a meal since we were so unsatisfied there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I apologize that your visit to our restaurant did not meet your standards.

I’m very sorry that you did not enjoy your Thanksgiving meal. Even on Thanksgiving our cuisine is prepared with the finest and freshest local ingredients and is cooked by our highly skilled chef and his team. I can assure you that the turkey was not a frozen pressed turkey roll. We always strive for excellence in our cuisine - especially on holidays. (As it was our Thanksgiving meal as well.) If our food is ever to your dissatisfaction please alert the wait staff at once so we can take care of you.

I’m deeply sorry to hear that you had to wait a long time to receive your dessert. This is highly uncharacteristic of our staff, as we strive on getting your food to you as soon as possible.

Again, I would like to apologize and i hope that you will give Traditions on the Beach another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine old fashioned service and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to eat and enjoy the band. The food was very good and the service was outstanding. Notice I said very good for the food, but still rated the place highly. We had Tuna, Grouper, a pasta dish, and beef. Everything was tasty but the tuna was not well seasoned and the grouper tasted a bit fishy. But, again, everything else was outstanding and we would eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed themselves. I'm sorry you weren't 100% percent satisfied with the tuna and grouper. Our chef and his team use the finest and freshest ingredients to make our cuisine superb.If our food is ever to your dissatisfaction please alert the wait staff at once so we can take care of you. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family dinned at Traditions to celebrate our daughters birthday on 12/23/2013. This was the first time any of us had visited Traditions.
From the super friendly valet attendant to the rest of the staff we had an excellent evening.
The atmosphere was elegant and the Christmas decorations just added to a great experience.
I had the chicken Milanese pomodoro and gratin potato for my meal. The food portion was very large and super delicious.
They have music (and dancing) which added to the niceness of the evening.
We were there after sunset so we really could not appreciate the view of the beachfront.
I would most assuredly visit Traditions in the future when we hopefully will vacation again on Sanibel/Captiva.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for celebrating your daughter's birthday with us at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed their evening with us. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue WA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve party, 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Table all evening, live combo with superb female vocalist, dancing and wonderful service!
Will definitely try this venue on a regular evening next visit to Sanibel Island~~!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ch00seyon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for joining us for our annual New Year's Eve Gala at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed their meal and the entertainment. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditions on the Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Traditions on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing