We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go!”
Review of Greenhouse Grill - CLOSED

Greenhouse Grill
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
“Great place to go!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had an excellent dinner! Food was wonderful, service was great! Everyone did everything possible to insure we had a most enjoyable evening! Thanks ! We're already planning another visit next week!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrapblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    112
    63
    40
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayport
2 reviews
“Greenhouse Grill”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great food recommend the specials of the day. My husband and I ordered the Cesar Salad with blackened shrimp we also ordered the homemade green tea everything was delicious. Service was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jekyl and Hyde”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Have visited Sanibel 3 times and this is our go to place. A little on the expensive side but good quality food costs more. Went on a Tuesday in early Oct.with two other tables in the restaurant. We were greeted nicely by the hostess/owner and seated at a booth by the window. Our waitress greeted us hesitantly and took our drink order. We asked about the specials and she could not answer any of the questions we asked. She left and brought our drinks back. We placed our order which we repeated and eventually pointed to it on the menu. We eventually figured out she was new and cut her some slack. The salad came out on a large plate we intended to share it.The waitress left without asking about extra plates. We eventually flagged her down and she brought us plates. Never asked us if we wanted fresh pepper or a refill on our drinks. After we were done with the salad she finally brought out the bread and the dipping oil.. We both ate that and we had asked for more bread. She grabbed the bread basket and eventually brought out the bread after bringing our entrees out. Again never asking us if we needed anything. We had to beg her to bring us more water and when we asked for grated cheese, she looked around and grabbed it off of the other table. As for the food it wasn't one of their better nights in the kitchen The scallops were tough and bland my wifes food was nothing special. During this entire time the hostess/owner stayed by the bar not even coming over to find out if everything was satisfactory. A Hostess, especially an owner should greet each customer as if they were special and go to each table and engage each patron especially on a slow night with a new waitress. We left,didn't say anything about the service and the bland food cutting the waitress some slack due to her being new. We decided to try again everyone has an off day. We went on a Wednesday night. Our favorite waiter Luigi was working that night. Again greeted by Diane. Again a slow night two other tables. She offered us two tables when we picked the one she didn't offer to us she walked past the table and threw the menus down and walked away. Luigi came right over and helped seat us making us feel comfortable. He explained each of the specials with enthusiasm made each of his patrons feel special as if you were dining in his home. We had one of the pasta specials which Luigi recommended and something off of the regular menu along with an appetizer. Luigi was spot on with his service, we never had to ask for anything, he anticipated our needs and the food was delicious,this was the Greenhouse we knew and loved. The food came out well paced, hot. The menu hasn't changed in the 3 years we have been going their. Sometimes when restaurants sit on their laurels they become boring and begging for a change. Thankfully the restaurant has Luigi as their ambassador. He makes up for the lack of social graces that the owner lacks. That's why we will continue to go to Greenhouse as long as Luigi is there and the quality of the food. The owners really need to look at updating their menu and stop resting on their laurels.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank billybrock67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I ate at the Greenhouse Grill last week while vacationing on Sanibel. We couldn't remember the name of this restaurant but we remembered eating there 4 years ago. We searched all the restaurants and we so happy we found it. The food is exceptional. My husband had a freshly made tomato and zucchini soup, delicious. I had the boullibaise, out this world. The staff are so friendly and accomodating. Just a wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snookct1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, FL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I had Chiati and Tomato Bruschetta to start. For Entree, I had Eggplant Parm and hubby had "to die for" Seafood Boullibaise. We could have easily shared the fish stew. The Italian bread was very good for dipping. I had Tiramisu and hubby had a luscious Lemon dessert with a crust. Coffee was hearty the way I like it. We rode our bikes and as we were leaving there came a downpour that showed no signs of stopping. The owner and server both offered to drive us home. The server was so sweet and gracious. We rode 2 miles in the rain and considered the whole evening "perfect" !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenhouse Grill also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing