We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of Il Tesoro

Il Tesoro
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San-Cap Road
Description: IL Tesoro Ristorante, the restaurant name which means ,"the Treasure" in Italian, features authentic Italian cuisine with a modern sophisticated touch using only the freshest seasonal ingredients. Enjoy a festive experience in a Bistro-style setting, with hundreds of Italian wines and dozens of original oil paintings decorating the walls. Open kitchen flair is added enjoyment of the evening as you can watch your dinner being carefully prepared. Our menu is the total creation of Chef/Owner, AJ Black, where his motto reigns supreme, “Fresh Ingredients, simplicity, love are the recipe for a treasured dining experience."
Sarasota, Florida, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

While visiting Sanibel Island with friends we were looking for a nice Friday evening dinner. After checking TA we decided on IL Tesoro. Since we were out of season, we were able to just walk in without a reservation. The atmosphere is romantic and cozy because it's not a huge place. We enjoyed our dinners very much. I had the spaghetti scampi and my wife enjoyed the spaghetti with mussels. Neither dish was doused in olive oil or overly garlicky tasting as is the case in many chain or lesser quality restaurants. Our server Brett was excellent and the owner stopped by to ensure our satisfaction. This is a wonderful restaurant for a special occasion, romantic dinner or just a fine quality Italian meal. It can be a little pricey though. They also have a sister restaurant in New York City on 82nd St.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPDfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    106
    65
    57
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the homey feel, great food!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We always start our meal at Il Tesoro with the house antipasto. Just like grandma (Italian) made - different every time we dine here and always fresh and tasty!! We do like wine but don't like to spend a lot of $$, as we're not experts. That's what we told our waiter, who suggested what I would consider a great italian red - $40 for the bottle, which was fair. Meals were outstanding as per usual - the specials of the evening are a lower price than in the past, which gets them into our price range. So - we got the specials of the evening - Sea Bass was just great! Topped off the meal with a visit from Jolene, owner. She made our whole dining experience complete, as we felt like we were at home and a welcome guest. In our many visits to Il Tesoro, have always had a good experience with excellent service. Off season is our prime time of the year to visit here, to avoid the crowds and enjoy a relaxed meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leroy733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Owner at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi and thank you for the excellent review, I really appreciate it and want to extend our teams appreciation for you coming to our little Italy on Sanibel. Please come back soon, and let us know how to make your night special again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Jewel Indeed!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Arrived on Sanibel along with TS Andrea (June, 2013). After exploring to gain our bearings, we realized an urge for Italian. Gratitude for the sign maker who gave us our invitation to a wonderful, delicious meal. Not to be missed, the atmosphere and food are equally enjoyable. We will certainly repeat our next trip on the island!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dolfinns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Fantastic review and thanks for the photo post! We appreciate the great feedback, and look forward to seeing you back again and again to try our always evolving menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a recent trip to Sanibel Island and the highlight of the trip was dining at II Tesoro. From the moment we walked into the restaurant, we knew it would be special. Demitrio, Tony, and Sonya all waited on us and were friendly, attentive, and helped make the meal memorable. We had the Lobster Agrodolce Tempura to start our meal, and it was delicious. After the first bite, I just didn't want the experience to end. My girlfriend had the Sea Bass Tesoro, and I had the Zuppe di Pesce. The Sea Bass was the best Sea Bass we had ever eaten and my dinner was incredible too. It would be very difficult to decide which one I would chose the next time we dine there. For dessert we shared a homemade cannoli and the Black and White Cheesecake. The cheesecake was so good that we got one to go.
We also got to meet Joelene, the owner, and told her what an amazing meal and exceptional experience we had had in her restaurant. You can understand why her restaurant is so successful when you see how knowledgeable and passionate she is about the ingredients, taste, and presentation of each meal.
Although we live an hour away from the restaurant, driving one hour would be more than worth it to relive that dining experience. If you are on Sanibel Island, you don't want to miss going to II Tesoro! We are definitely going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Evening”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary by having dinner on 6/12. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. We sat right next to the chef and watched him create amazing dishes for everyone to enjoy. Our food was AMAZING and the wait staff provided great service. The entire experience was more than we ever imagined. We will be returning next year when we return to the island. You MUST check it out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusantheOceanGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tesoro also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Il Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing