We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entrees but stay away from dessert and coffee”
Review of Il Tesoro

Il Tesoro
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San-Cap Road
Description: IL Tesoro Ristorante, the restaurant name which means ,"the Treasure" in Italian, features authentic Italian cuisine with a modern sophisticated touch using only the freshest seasonal ingredients. Enjoy a festive experience in a Bistro-style setting, with hundreds of Italian wines and dozens of original oil paintings decorating the walls. Open kitchen flair is added enjoyment of the evening as you can watch your dinner being carefully prepared. Our menu is the total creation of Chef/Owner, AJ Black, where his motto reigns supreme, “Fresh Ingredients, simplicity, love are the recipe for a treasured dining experience."
Dublin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great entrees but stay away from dessert and coffee”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our appetizers were average but our dinners were exceptional. However, our server never stopped by our table to inquire if the meals were prepared to our satisfaction. Nor were we given the opportunity to order more drinks. We find that unusual especially since the restaurant was not busy. After dinner, we ordered cappuccinos. They were awful and still our server did not stop by. We caught the attention of the owner to express our dissatisfaction. She explained there was a barista problem and arranged for replacements for the cappuccinos. We also ordered the black and white cheesecake and cannoli to go. The cheesecake was tasted as if it was spoiled and the cannoli were just ok. We will probably return hopefully by then
the service, desserts and the barista will improve.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scalese01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Owner at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We appreciate the great feedback, unfortunately the espresso machine was challenging for one of the newer servers since it is a real machine not one of those push-a-button- with - pod ones, and you did receive very beautiful replacements without hesitation. As for the "cheesecake" , there are not any spoiled items in the restaurant and will never ever be served lest eaten as you did to the bottom of the plate. With that said, reviews are a great writing outlet for those complaints that were not resolved, and I know that we did resolve your concerns to our utmost power and will continue to do our very best every day because we do love to take care of and please everyone as much we can. Have you ever made an espresso or cappuccino ? I have a video on youtube that is really enjoyable to see, our daughter Sophia shows how-to make the perfect espresso on our youtube channel foodguro. Check it out, and looking forward to your visit again soon!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    105
    64
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Our meal was very disappointing on our recent visit to this restaurant. Since they have another restaurant in NYC, we felt this would be authentic Italian cuisine. This was far from what we expected. The food quality was inferior for the price paid. Been coming to the Islands for over 29 years, and this was one of the worst meals that we have ever had. On a good note the server was good, however, this did not make our experience any better. Definitely would not give this restaurant another try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Our style of Italian cuisine is rich in the culture throughout its beautiful landscape, it's diverse and rich in history with all chefs cooking their inspired dishes.We stand behind our cuisine as well as the thousands who love it and come back every year/ week to our high standard fresh sautéed dishes boast. The chain restaurants add and have chemical salts and spices to amp their food filled with GMO and such that your palette must be used to unfortunately we do not and will not do this at our restaurant because we have a moral responsibility to all our family and guests who eat with us. As for your visit to our fabulous restaurant, I see that you failed to report your behavior and words you had on your way out, I was sorry that you were looking for that kind of attention, but I hope that you have gotten it now. Also, the corkage fees a restaurant charges for someone bringing their own bottles into a restaurant are easily researched on the many websites for wine etiquette that may be helpful to you and your family's added information. I have found them very helpful and have referred my other friends to them when calculating the fees to charge or not. It is based , the corkage fee, on the least expensive bottle of wine on the list at most all restaurants I have looked up , those including the ones in NYC like you mentioned. Thank you so much again, we do have your name on file so that we can be sure we put salt on the table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island
1 review
“A father's day experience night!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Somebody recommended me this Italian restaurant in Sanibel "Il tesoro", I had dinner on father's day and the food was delicious, very well elaborated and top of the line!!! the waiter Demetrio was excellent and he fulfilled all my expectations and demands. Benne molto benne!!


Gus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptivaIslandService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We love Father's Day, it is a special day for us since our chef Black is such a devoted father, we love to serve all the special guests on this special day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as usual”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For the third year in a row my sister and I have had the pleasure of dining at Il Tesoro on Sanibel Island. We both had the Lobster Ravioli the first night and absolutely loved it. We treated ourselves to a second night (in the same week) and were not disappointed that time either. Yes, it is a little pricey and the wine is over-priced but we don't care because the food is soooo darn good ! ! !
The wait staff is very friendly and knowledgeable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Superb food from a superb staff. These guys will bend backwards to satisfy your cravings of an incredibly well prepare Italian food; from appetizers to entrees, from wine selection to dessert. Mamma Mia!! Just go and have a full rounded experience; you won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tesoro also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Il Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing