We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner”
Review of Il Tesoro

Il Tesoro
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San-Cap Road
Description: IL Tesoro Ristorante, the restaurant name which means ,"the Treasure" in Italian, features authentic Italian cuisine with a modern sophisticated touch using only the freshest seasonal ingredients. Enjoy a festive experience in a Bistro-style setting, with hundreds of Italian wines and dozens of original oil paintings decorating the walls. Open kitchen flair is added enjoyment of the evening as you can watch your dinner being carefully prepared. Our menu is the total creation of Chef/Owner, AJ Black, where his motto reigns supreme, “Fresh Ingredients, simplicity, love are the recipe for a treasured dining experience."
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I had been told the Il Tesoro had the best Italian on the island, and we agree! We went there our last night of vacation. The service was impeccable, as was the food. When we walked in we saw the antipasto ingredients and could not resist ordering it. It was fabulous. We each had a pasta dish for our main course. I had the pepperdelle with lamb, pork and veal in San Marzano sauce, a very rich and delicious meal. My husband had fettuccine with sweet peas, mushrooms, shrimp (and maybe something else), a lighter but very flavorful dish. We had a Sicilian wine, Primitivo, theleast expensive on what for me was a pretty pricey wine list, and it was an interesting and new experience. We liked it. We ordered an orange sorbet for dessert, really good, and the waiter brought us an after dinner drink on the house! So lovely. We go to Sanibel every year and I can't wait to go back to this restaurant.

1  Thank Laure R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi and Thank you for coming to experience our restaurant and spending time dining with us, please come to see us again to try some more comforting dishes and some great wines along with them. Always happy to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 475 of 677 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great wine list, the anti pasto was superb, I had the spaghetti scampi which was outstanding, and for desert the chocolate cake was a great finish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mjshort9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Local homeowners advised us to try out this out-of-the-way restaurant and we were not disappointed. We had an antipasto of the house and a mixed salad (topped with an extra bruschetta), followed by one wonderful set of ribs and a risotto. The house Pinot from Italy was quite palatable. Demetrio, our server, was attentive and friendly, and Jolie Black, the co-owner (with husband Chef AJ Black) a gracious hostess. The offered Prosecco-based digestif was a nice touch. We'll definitely try their New York eponymous eatery next time we are on the Upper East Side.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Owner at Il Tesoro, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

The IL Tesoro family loves you, please come to see us here again and visit our NYC restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Not sure the negative reviews here. We dined here tonight and we were very pleased with both the service and the meal. I had the lamb shank and mynwife had the sea bass and both meals were outstanding. Great little restaurant and atmosphere. We dined here in 2011 and the value and quality this time were as good if not better. This spot is on our list as not to miss in Sanibel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank BBJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi and Thank you for coming to experience our restaurant and spending time dining with us, please come to see us again to try some more comforting dishes and some great wines along with them. Always happy to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

While the waitress was very friendly and the atmosphere was pleasant, we paid $96 before tip for 2 of us to have dinner. One ice tea, lobster ravioli, chicken dish with artichokes, sun dried tomatoes and cream sauce and we each had a dessert. No cocktails, no salad. And one of us was sick during the night. Could be coincidence but doubt it.

1  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tesoro also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Il Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing