We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Consistent Food and Service”
Review of Il Tesoro

Il Tesoro
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San-Cap Road
Description: IL Tesoro Ristorante, the restaurant name which means ,"the Treasure" in Italian, features authentic Italian cuisine with a modern sophisticated touch using only the freshest seasonal ingredients. Enjoy a festive experience in a Bistro-style setting, with hundreds of Italian wines and dozens of original oil paintings decorating the walls. Open kitchen flair is added enjoyment of the evening as you can watch your dinner being carefully prepared. Our menu is the total creation of Chef/Owner, AJ Black, where his motto reigns supreme, “Fresh Ingredients, simplicity, love are the recipe for a treasured dining experience."
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Consistent Food and Service”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We went back 4 times during our stay in Sanibel, and as it has been in the past every aspect of our dining experience was the best it could be.Very friendly, attentive service.
I can't help but order the grilled marinated calamari to start off, it comes served on a bed of mix greens. It's excellent!
Next we had the Bucatini with sautéed Italian bacon and spicy tomato sauce; we'll have to come back this summer just so we don't have to talk about this dish for the next six months.
Every entree tried we've enjoyed immensely. In the 15 to 20 times dining here we've enjoyed very consistent food and service, when we read negative reviews it sounds like they're talking of another place. I don't believe them.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    106
    65
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thoughts”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Food here-excellant
Atmosphere-good, a bit cramped, but nice and homey

That said, rather surprised how many responses the owner posted here and how rude and snotty they could be. Things to like "obviously, you dont know good food from a can of.." type stuff. It cheapens the establishment when the owner has to act that rude on internet. Reminds me of some of the attitudal folks we glimpse on that Kitchen Nightmares show. Rather juvenile and sad.Spend more time working, less feeling compulsion to attack others, esp if you do not know what their tastes and experiences really are. I ate here a year ago. That snouty, fake high society stuck up attitude was the only poor spot of the experience....and yes, I have eaten in many high end establishments...I do know good from a can.....I also know that I dislike stuck up people with airs. Try, humility

  • Visited June 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
I Think you are correct with what you said, but Feeling ,Passion and Love are why we do what we do and why it is So Good.Getting a recipe and cooking from simple directions doesn't always get the same results from every chef, the reason why cuisine is over and above good only happens when your heart goes into the recipe. So please forgive my manner of delivering a comment to reviews that are hard felt. We strive everyday to be the best we can, and will always try to be less emotional about people who don't appreciate our efforts. Internet sites like these are a way for us all to say how we think and feel , for all to see for a very long time so defending our behavior toward a person who didn't get something for free after they consumed it and then made a scene in the restaurant isn't someone we want back to do this again. We don't want to ruin the other diners experience who are there to enjoy themselves. we want the people who love our food and restaurant to be happy and look forward to coming back. We look forward to seeing you back, and hope to meet you personally. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow, they did it again!”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We visit Sanibel every May for ten days and Il Tesoro never fails to impress.
Four different visits during this trip and each one perfect. On one of our visits we requested a Chef's tasting dinner and it was way beyond our expectations. We sat for five hours and experienced one of best meals we've ever had. The five hours flew by and felt more like two. The food, the consistency, service, the timing of courses, knowledge of the wine list, along with great recommendations, all made it a great experience.

After almost 20 visits to Il Tesoro I don't believe the negative reviews.

Also, thank you for the gift signed by A J Black that we received after dinner.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank njrush29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Hi and thank you, we enjoyed taking care of you because that's why we do what we do. The experience of having you happy makes it all worth while. I speak for the entire staff to thank you for making a nice comment and review, and we look forward to serving you another great meal here at IL Tesoro, Sanibel. Please let me know how the Bolognese recipe turned out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of coupon”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This would have been great overall dining experience had it not been for the coupon issue, which left a decidedly bad taste in our mouths.
We had a coupon which clearly said buy one entree and appetizer and get one free entree up to $25 value. We heard 2 other tables inquiring about their coupons, and they as well as we, were told, oh, that coupon requires that you buy two appetizers. We questioned our wait person who checked with management, and yes, this coupon would require this. Not wanting to make a scene, we simply ordered more. Later we discovered that Sunny Day magazine has a coupon for buy one, get one free on the entrees.
So, we really felt in a bait and switch situation. Even tho the food was excellent, we will not be returning to Il Tesoro. We had lunch at the Greenhouse Grill, which was outstanding, and more imaginative food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Disimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest we thank you for your business, and hope to see you soon.To be with us again to enjoy our gift to all who use the coupon to get a better value when they try us and dine with us. New and continued guests know and look for this discounted time as off-season dining, and look for and use the coupons all the time using it as a "gift" of discount if they use the coupon with the parameters that are on it. This way the guests can get a "gift" from us as in 'paying less than any other time. The discounts are also appropriate with our restaurants concept of dining, where as you go through courses. We appreciate your clarification over this internet site.Please have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian food and great service.”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I think all these negative reviews must be about a different restaurant ;) My wife ate there this evening and it was polar opposite to all these negative reviews. The food was really something special and the service was impeccable.

We had the polenta which I have to say was probably the best polenta dish i've had in any restaurant. Delicious and definitely hit the cheese spot!

We then had the gnocchi and we asked for it in the norca sauce instead which was no problem at all. Just like our appetizer it was absolutely delicious and full of flavor.

I've been to a lot of italian restaurants both excellent and terrible. I can say without a doubt this is up their with the very best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peterbwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iltesoro, Manager at Il Tesoro, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a positive comment, we really appreciate it and want you to know that we are always striving to do better, and innovative fresh ideas.
Thank you again, and look forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tesoro also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Il Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing